Ext 1 and Ext 2 Math tips (1 Viewer)

trick10

HSC
Hi,
I am an accelerated student currently in year 10 and I have decided to enroll in the 3u and 4u maths course. What advice do you guys have that may help me in achieving a band 6 for both courses. Many past students in my school have said that our 3u and 4u teachers aren't great and would normally avoid doing any tough quesitons so it may be difficult for me to rely on them.

Thanks

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad
Maybe get a tutor since ur teachers are shitty, if you can't afford one that's fine you can still get a band 6.

Start off with a textbook such as Cambridge (maths in focus is pretty basic), use that to learn the content and proofs.

After you have done some questions from those exercises (don't do the whole thing), just use sites such as THSConline to do past papers to access those difficult questions. At the start obviously you can't do all the questions, but just scroll through and see if you have done that topic and skip the ones u haven't and come back to them when you are up to them.

After all your topics are done prior to your trials and HSC, do full past papers under timed conditions to improve speed and thinking under pressure which are important exam techniques.

It might also be helpful to form like some type of study group where you share good questions and ask other friends how to do questions you can't figure the answer out to

Martin_SSEDU

HSC
If you're doing the HSC course this year for 3U and 4U my only word of advice is to make the most of this upcoming holiday. Get a group of friends or as the above post said maybe even a tutor and keep going through content. That way you have your own safety net in terms of risk when it comes to worrying about whether you can do the topic easily or not.

Last edited:

pikachu975

Premium Member
HSC