Selection of Major for Medical Science at USYD - ANAT or PHSI? (1 Viewer)

racheeel

HSC
Hi guys,

I was hoping that you could help give me more information as to what the different majors for medical science at USYD offer... I'm a first year student and I'm hoping to study postgraduate med in the future so I'm trying to direct my major to lead me onto that path. I'm kinda torn between Anatomy & Histology and Physiology and I just can't decide which one to choose.. can anyone tell me the differences between them and what you do in the different units of study - are there any dissections? Which will put me on the path to medicine etc? I suppose which one's harder too? But medicine is a tough one anyway and I guess I have to get right into it to get to where I want to be.

Thanks so much for you help!

Hoping to hear some responses soon :)

P.S.: I'm also planning to pick up another major in third year - cell pathology. So .. I have to choose one or the other haha thanks again!

LetterNo1

HSC
Uni Grad
hey did you end up deciding?

Im doing B sci and was looking into those majors too

lawstu

HSC
Hi guys,

I was hoping that you could help give me more information as to what the different majors for medical science at USYD offer... I'm a first year student and I'm hoping to study postgraduate med in the future so I'm trying to direct my major to lead me onto that path.
Grad.

To do postgraduate (further) medicine, you first need to have a medical degree.
I'm kinda torn between Anatomy & Histology and Physiology and I just can't decide which one to choose..
Do whatever interests you or what best works for you. If medicine does not work out, would you be happy to do tech work or research (with some or all that those entail)?