Science / cognitive neuroscience as an area of study / career? (1 Viewer)

brainscience

HSC
**edit** - realised the heading should be 'Psychology / cognitive neuroscience ...', apologies for typo!

Hi all,

I'm in a somewhat rare position. I completed a Bachelor of Arts (Majoring English and Political Economy) at Sydney Uni in 2013, and have primarily been working full-time since. However, I have come to realise that in order to do something I find remotely fulfilling, I really have little choice but to return to study, this time in something that will set me down a more specific direction career-wise than my B.A. double major.

After some serious soul searching and introspection, coupled with some research, I've decided what's always interested me most is the human mind - what makes us tick at the most fundamental level. I find the topic absolutely fascinating, and can see myself absorbed and loving studying this field. Furthermore, the field of mind / brain science seems an area where there is so much scope to help others, either in a research or clinical setting. Finally, psychology and other brain sciences seems so profoundly focused on people, whereas in my mind something like IT or Engineering are focused away from people toward material objects and infrastructures. To me, this makes these and similarly depersonalised fields less interesting. I love the idea of getting into research in an academic setting, however if this lofty goal proves unattainable I'm confident clinical practice would suit me well too. If the research goal proves attainable, neuropsychology and evolutionary psychology fascinate me in particular, not least because they actually seem to more earnestly link in with 'real' science than, say, Freudian psychoanalysis.

However, there are a number of unknowns to me that I hope someone may shed some light on. If someone could help me out that would be fantastic: