Answer AlarmBell's Questions Thread (1 Viewer)

anomalousdecay

Premium Member
HSC
Suppose polynomial p lies in and polynomial q lies in .

For a solid proof I would do the following:

Show for cases where n = 1 and m = 1, n = k, m = r.

Then use induction, n = k+1, m = r+1. State that if p and q are both continuous for all complex/real inputs (can't remember which course where you can assume all polynomials are in complex sets) then the composite is also continuous.

Then becomes a polynomial that lies in

As an engineer I would totally look at it and see what the resultant dimension for the manipulation is for any arbitrary m and n, then skip the proof part.

For b), check the definition for polynomials and mention continuity. You can use the result from part a) to help.

I could be wrong with a few things here as it's been a very long time since I touched this sort of maths.

AlarmBell

HSC
N/A
Suppose polynomial p lies in and polynomial q lies in .

For a solid proof I would do the following:

Show for cases where n = 1 and m = 1, n = k, m = r.

Then use induction, n = k+1, m = r+1. State that if p and q are both continuous for all complex/real inputs (can't remember which course where you can assume all polynomials are in complex sets) then the composite is also continuous.

Then becomes a polynomial that lies in

As an engineer I would totally look at it and see what the resultant dimension for the manipulation is for any arbitrary m and n, then skip the proof part.

For b), check the definition for polynomials and mention continuity. You can use the result from part a) to help.

I could be wrong with a few things here as it's been a very long time since I touched this sort of maths.
Hey, thanks for your reply! I don't fully get it. Sorry but could you explain further with full working out please?

InteGrand

HSC
N/A
Hey can anyone help me with these 2?

Both of these use the intermediate value theorem (IVT).