99.80 ATAR | 96 Legal Studies || Essays and Guide for HSC Legal Studies (1 Viewer)

esaitchkay

HSC
Hi, fellow BOSers!

My name is Steven Kim and I graduated from Baulkham Hills High School with an ATAR of 99.80, achieving an overall Legal Studies mark of 96.

In addition, I came 2nd internally, attaining 58/60 and 95/100 in the Half-Yearly and Trial Examination, respectively (first for both exams).

For the HSC, I received a raw mark of 90, which was aligned to 95.

The option topics I did were:
World Order (25/25 for HY, 25/25 for Trials and 23/25 for HSC)
Global Environmental Protection (24/25 for Trials, 23.5/25 for HSC)

Following my deep passion and interest for Legal Studies, I have been working on a Legal Studies Guide, whilst also offering my trial and HSC responses, along with a some content ideas and deconstruction of questions for the option topics.

I would like to note that despite being a mainly “tick-the-box” subject (just copy paste what you read in textbooks) - higher order thinking is required for the larger responses in Legal Studies. As such, I will briefly go over the tools and techniques required to succeed, rather than raw content - there are textbooks for a reason!

Despite being a heavy promoter of rote-learning English essays, I can't recommend the same for Legal Studies Extended Responses.
Personally, I found that knowing a bunch of legislation, cases, media reports and other important issues and ideas were sufficient enough for producing an essay which not only directly answered the question, but also provided a strong argument.

Ultimately, however, it all comes down to you, the individual - you're going to be the one doing your assessments in the exam hall, the one studying their ass off in the library, and hopefully, the one being rewarded for the aforementioned hard work! 12 months may seem like a long time, but trust me, it flies, and in no time, HSC will be but a distant memory.

=========

Instructions for Purchase: