Enrolling in easy subjects on purpose (1 Viewer)

filleunique

HSC
I'm doing summer school at the moment - an intensive language course.

One of the people in our course has studied the language for FIVE YEARS already.

The description says:
This unit of study is for absolute beginners or for students who have no substantial prior knowledge of _language_.
We are learning really basic stuff.

They are planning to do the second semester equivalent of the course too. It is pretty obvious that they are in it just to kill the subject and amp up their WAM in as little time as possible (an HD of over 95 in 3 weeks).

I really don't think it's fair, the subject is scaled so it's screwing the rest of us over.

Am I being a bitch or would it be worth at least mentioning it to someone else in the department (the tutor/lecturer doesnt seem to care)???

thesecond

HSC
Yes. I would definately say something.
If it's screwing up your marks, then it must be done.
They are the one in the wrong.
But I would make sure I have some sort of proof first, in case they deny it and then you look like a dumbass.

Alex499

HSC
I had this same problem with beginners french in my first semester of uni. There were people that had lived in france, and studied french, yet did the beginners course because they didn't want to be challenged. I was one of the few beginners in my class and was so far behind everyone else. I ended up dropping it just before the cutoff date because I was so ridiculously disadvantaged.

But yeah I'd say something. It isn't fair to you and the other beginners in your class.

filleunique

HSC
I think I'm going to email the head of the department and ask how strict they are on prior knowledge without any specifics.
Then depending on what they say give some more detail and see.