Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 590
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Subject Reviews (with PDF compilation)

  1. #1
    Nightman stazi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    14,125
    Rep Power
    20

    Subject Reviews (with PDF compilation)

    BOS/USYD Unit of Study Reviews (PDF)

    For the past number of years, USyders on this forum have helped one another by taking a short time out at the end of each semester to share their thoughts on the subjects they have completed.

    I've taken these spiels and collated them into the pdf document linked to above. The subjects are in alphabetical and numerical order. Hopefully this publication will assist future generations in their subject selections.

    I encourage you all to contribute your thoughts.

    Rafy
    Administrator
    Last edited by Rafy; 10 Nov 2011 at 2:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Intergalactic Jester I-Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    224
    Rep Power
    10
    GOVT1101 - Aussie Politics
    Ease - 10/10
    Lecturer - 5/10 (Ariadne - if its the other one you're better off)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 7.5/10

    MECO1003 - Principles of Media Writing
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturer - varies, approx 7.5/10 (Catherine Lumby is an arrogant pain in the ass)
    Interest - 9/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ENGL1000 - University English
    Ease - 10/10
    Lecturer - 10/10 (Had her as a tutor - SO NICE! Didn't actually go to lectures)
    Interest - 6/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ECOP1001 - Economics as a Social Science
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturer - 10/10
    Interest - 9/10
    Overall - 9/10

    CLAW1001 - Commercial Transactions A
    Ease - 7.5/10
    Lecturer - 10/10
    Interest - 10/10
    Overall - 9.25/10

    MECO1001 - Australian Media Studies
    Ease - 3/10
    Lecturer - 9/10 (Worst tutor ever)
    Interest - 3/10
    Overall - 5/10

    GOVT1406 - International Business and Politics
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturer - 5/10 (Darryl Dickhead Jarvis)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 7/10

    GOVT1202 - World Politics
    Ease - 4/10
    Lecturer - 2/10
    Interest - 2/10
    Overall - 2/10


    A general note - don't do Media and Comm. Its bullshit. All complete bullshit.
    Class of '04
    UAI 99.35
    Bachelor of Economics (Social Sciences)/Bachelor of Laws

  3. #3
    adamsaclown
    Guest
    okay i'll only do the ones that people would be interested in

    PSYC1001
    Ease - 6/10
    Lecturer(s) - 8/10 (most were really good, some not so good)
    Interest - 10/10
    Overall - 8.5?/10

    PSYC1002
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturer(s) - 8.5/10 (better than last semester)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ECMT1010 (counter to Stas')
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 (only had Tig)
    Interest - 5.5/10 (not that bad really, once you get over the whole 'statistics is boring and useless' thing)
    Overall - 6/10

    INFS1000 - Business Information Systems
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturer - 6.5/10 (Paul - 7, other guy 6)
    Interest - 5/10 (lectures were BORING, computer stuff was alright though)
    Overall - 6/10

    SOFT1001 - Software Development 1
    Ease - 9/10 (though only if you actually pay attention. if you don't, especially at the start, obviously you will struggle. duh. do it only if u actually want to)
    Lecturer - 7/10
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 7.5/10

    SOFT1902 - Software Development 2 (Advanced)
    Ease - 4/10 (workload = immense)
    Lecturer - 7/10
    Interest - 6/10 (began to wane, maybe because of the workload)
    Overall - 7/10

  4. #4
    yes, they're my legs. llamalope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Left BOS (somewhat temporarily) on 29/12/05 to return in about 6 months. Don't forget me!
    Posts
    1,292
    Rep Power
    10
    ECON1001 - Introductory Microeconomics
    Ease - 7/10 (depends on lecturer)
    Lecturer - 8/10 (Dennis is great, but he's gone... De Roos is a douche bag. Tutors are shit))
    Interest - 5/10 (fairly boring, only lifted by lecturer)
    Overall - 6.5/10

    ECON1002 - Introductory Macroeconomics
    Ease - 5/10 (geez those essays are awful)
    Lecturer - 7/10 (tutors are shittier than 1001)
    Interest - 7/10 (more interesting than 1001)
    Overall - 6.7/10

    Math1001 - Differential Calculus
    Ease - 5/10
    Lecturer - 2/10 (worst lecturer in history. refused to use a microphone)
    Interest - 4/10
    Overall - 4/10

    Math1002 - Linear Algebra
    Ease - 6/10 (vectors are dodgy, but matrices are easy)
    Lecturer - 6/10 (if you talk in lecturers, you will be in big trouble)
    Interest 5/10
    Overall - 5.7/10

    Math1004 - Discrete Mathematics
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturer - 11/10 (Dr Choo or uncle choo as he prefers to be called, is a legend)
    Interest 7/10
    Overall 8.7/10

    MATH1005 - Statistics
    Ease - 7/10 (starts out really easy, then gets hard in week 6)
    Lecturer - 7/10
    Interest - ???? depends on how interesting you find statistics
    Overall 7/10

    Oh and I think the psyc1002 lecturers weren't really better than 1001...
    Bachelor of Arts (Dance) at WAAPA 2006
    SU MADSOC secretary, dancer and choreographer extrodinaire!.


    Quote Originally Posted by braad
    omg omg

    such potent sexiness

    you shouldn't be on BOS

    Saturday morning, and
    who's going to play with me?
    six in the morning baby
    I got a long long day ahead of me

  5. #5
    n/a ToO LaZy ^*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    northern beaches
    Posts
    2,901
    Rep Power
    11
    ACCT1001- Accounting 1A
    Ease - 7.5/10 (gets harder gradually)
    Lecturers - 7/10
    Interest - 7.5/10
    Overall 7/10

    ACCT1002- Accounting 1B
    Ease - 6.5/10
    Lecturers - 6.5/10
    Interest - 7.5/10
    Overall 7/10

    ECMT1010- Business and economic statistics A
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturers - 8/10 (tig) (-)4/10 (murray)
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall 7.5/10

    ECMT1020- Business and economic statistics B
    Ease - 7.5/10
    Lecturers - 8/10
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 8/10

    INFS1000- Information Systems
    Ease - 8.5/10
    Lecturers - 6/10
    Interest - 0/10
    Overall - 0.5/10

    CLAW1001- Commercial Transactions A
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturers- 10/10
    Interest- 9/10
    Overall- 8.5/10

  6. #6
    Banned Henry_Kissinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    172
    Rep Power
    0
    ECOP1001 - Economics as a Social Science
    Ease - 10/10
    Lecturer - 10/10
    Interest - 9/10
    Overall - 9/10

    GOVT1406 - International Business and Politics
    Ease - 5/10 - lot of reading if you get an anal tutor, like 200 pages per week
    Lecturer - 4/10 you either like his ego, or you don't. i did -penalised him for doing less than half of the lectures. guest lecturers suck.
    Interest - 0/10
    Overall - 2/10

    GOVT1202 - World Politics
    Ease - 10/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 - if you can understand his wog accent
    Interest - 0/10 - i've already studied pol sci
    Overall - 6/10 - not hard to get a credit/ distinction, you won't get better if your tutor thinks (s)he is top shit.
    Last edited by Henry_Kissinger; 26 Dec 2005 at 2:20 PM.

  7. #7
    Executive Member Lainee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,165
    Rep Power
    11
    LAWS1010 - Foundations of Law
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturers - 9/10 (Some interesting guest lecturers (Kirby); some not so interesting)
    Interest - 8/10 (Interpretation and history stuff boring, but otherwise assessments and stuff interested me)
    Overall - 8/10

    LAWS1020 - Torts
    Ease - 7/10 (Advice: Keep well-organised notes and annotate wisely.)
    Lecturers - n/a (Tutors - 9/10, knowledgable, well-organised, friendly and approachable)
    Interest - 9/10
    Overall - 9/10

    ACCT1001 - Accounting 1A
    Ease - 7/10 (not hard if you just do homework regularly towards the end)
    Lecturers - 5/10 (soooo slow and boring, stuffy theatre didn't help me stay awake)
    Interest - 4/10 (content absolute shit, hated it)
    Overall - 5/10

    ACCT1002 - Accounting 1B
    Ease - 6/10 (noticeably harder than 1A)
    Lecturers - 5/10 (hate the lecture notes with half finished sentences so you have to copy down so much during lectures)
    Interest - 4/10
    Overall - 4/10

    ECON1001 - Introductory Microeconomics
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturers - 9/10 (I liked Nicholas De Roos, very organised lecture notes and well structured lectures. Not a particularly sociable lecturer, but I liked his lectures.)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ECON1002 - Introductory Macroeconomics
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturers - 9/10 (Catherine is really good - her exams are more comprehensible as well - try to get into her stream. All the tutors are bad.)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ECMT1010 - Business and Economic Statistics A
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturers - 9/10 (Tig) : 3/10 (Murray). Murray was awful, Tig was awesome.
    Interest - 8/10 (Interested me more than other commerce units anyway)
    Overall - 8/10

    INFS1000 - Information Systems
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturers - 3/10 (Lectures were useless, <50% attend lectures)
    Interest - 5/10 (The programming stuff was interesting... kinda)
    Overall - 5/10
    Last edited by Lainee; 26 Dec 2005 at 2:15 PM.
    Commerce (Econometrics)/Law 5th Year @ USyd.

  8. #8
    is hating uni & study grk_styl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Location
    on the dance floor with a bottle of tequila
    Posts
    4,219
    Rep Power
    13
    EDUF1018 - Education, Teachers and Teaching
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturer - 1/10 i despised the Head Lecturer, and since she took most of the lectures, it was crap. the one who took "Knowledge" was equally crap, and spoke to us like we were 5 years old.
    Interest - 3/10 it made me rethink my degree choice.
    Overall - 3/10 i was definitely considering changing degrees. it was a crap subject and it was really boring

    PSYC1001 - Psychology 1
    Ease - 5/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 I liked some and hated others. The "better" lecturers made their topic 10 times more interesting. Kudos to Lisa Zadro. I did the best in her topic
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 7/10 too much science and maths for my liking

    ENGL1020 - Literary Mythologies
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturer - 8/10
    Interest - 5/10 boring as bat shit
    Overall - 5/10

    HSTY1045 - Modern European History 1750-1914
    Ease - 2/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 what he said was very informative, but he spoke way too quietly.
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 3/10 it was interesting, but i hated it. it was too political

    EDUF1019 - Human Development & Education
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturer - 10/10 Dr. Stephie is the best
    Interest - 10/10
    Overall - 10/10

    PSYC1002 - Psychology 2
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 majority of lecturers were better this time round
    Interest - 9/10
    Overall - 8/10

    ENGL1005 - Language and Image
    Ease - 7/10
    Lecturer - 7/10 Nick Reimer was probably the best
    Interest - 4/10 the "maths of english" was incredibly hard. it started off really well, until about week 7-8 when the topics just started getting tedious and pointless.
    Overall - 7/10 only because my tutor gave me good marks...otherwise i'd give it a 5

    ENGL1015 - Inventing Modernity
    Ease - 6/10
    Lecturer - 2/10 i don't remember liking any of them
    Interest - 1/10 pointless pointless subject. the lectures consisted of finding the sexual undertones in all of the texts
    Overall - 1/10
    B Education (English)/B Arts (Psych) @ USYD 3rd year

    In my heart, in my head, it's so clear now,
    Hold my hand you've got nothing to fear now,
    I was lost and you've rescued me some how-.
    I'm alive, I'm in love you complete me,
    And I've never been here before.
    Now I see, what love means.

  9. #9
    Ancient Orator
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    5,716
    Rep Power
    14
    @ilamalope:
    who's ur differential lec?! i got dr bills.. and he's alryte

    STAT2911:
    Ease: 1/10 (quite hard stuff...)
    Lecturer: 8/10 (robinson's not bad)
    Interest: 9/10 (interesting nonetheless)
    Overall: 8.5
    hey, u can't argue that stat's useful

    MATH2961 vector calc + linear alg
    Ease: 6/10 (easy stuff)
    Lecturer: 5/10 (not the best, but alryte... have to say, alot are having difficulty understanding dr ruibin zhang's accent... =p)
    Interest: 9/10 (interesting stuff)
    Overal: 7/10

    MATH2965: real complex analysis
    Ease: 0/10 (definitely the hardest sub in first sem)
    Lecturer: 10/10 (u can't argue with daners)
    Interest: 10/10 (very intersting stuff)
    Overal: well i guess it makes it 10/10...


    MATH2965: PDE
    EASE: 1/10 (dind't think PDE was gonna be so hard)
    Lecturer: 4/10 (didn't really liked the lecturer... not as much as the first sem one's any way)
    Interest: 9/10 (esp for those doing phys, u need it... even some economist need it)
    Overal:7/10 (good call...)

    MATH2968: Algebra
    EASE: -1/10 definitely the hardest subject i have done yet... i believe the extra one pt above the 10 is worthwhile
    Lecturer:2/10 (poor... very poor, tho his wkly review session is a good practice... at the end, didn't even bother to turn up to tutes... maybe that explains my poor grades)
    Interest: 8/10 (not as an interestin subject as analysis... but still quite fun to do)
    Overal:6/10 (didn't enjoy it as much... after final exam i felt like shit)

    MATH2970: Financial maths
    EASE: 10/10 then 0/10, and the change is not a smooth limited growth funtion... it's more like a step fn... all of a sudden it gets impossibilty hard
    Lecturer:4/10 (he's nto bad... just he's not good either... overall doesn't have too good of a good impression of him... ivers i think his name was... he tries hard alot already, but i jsut feel not loved in financial maths)
    Overal: 8/10 (important subject for finance students/those who want to progress into risk assessment etc...
    Last edited by xiao1985; 2 Feb 2006 at 2:29 PM.
    DUCKIE IS REBORN!!!!! only 3 wks too earlie =S

    "I am willing to give up any thing for you... even maths!!!!" - anonymous
    "Don't cry because it ended; smile because it happened." - anonymous

  10. #10
    Cadet
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    9
    ANHS 1003
    Ease: 8/10 1 essay and an exam on only 2-3 areas
    Lecturer: 10/10 for alistair and 6.5/10 for jimmy
    Interest: 7/10
    Overall: 8/10

    GOVT 1105
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: 4/10
    Interest: 8.5/10
    Overall: 7/10

    HPSC 1000
    Ease: 7/10 lots of essays marked fairly hardly, but no exam
    Lecturer: 8/10 very solid
    Interest: 7/10 they really start to scrape the barrel at the end
    Overall: 7/10

    HSTY 1045
    Ease: 6.5/10 Very obscure stuff but not much work
    Lecturer: 5/10 Depressingly boring
    Interest 2/10 the most boring subject ever
    Overall: 4/10

    CHEM 1101
    Ease: 8/10
    Lecturer: 7/10
    Interest: 5/10
    Overall: 6/10

    GOVT 1202
    Ease: 6/10
    Lecturer: 8/10 once you get over the accent
    Interest 9/10
    Overall: 8/10

    HSTY 1044
    Ease 8/10
    Lecturer: 3.5/10
    Interest: 3.5/10
    Overall: 5/10

    SLSS 1002
    Ease 7/10
    Lecturer: 7.5/10
    Interest: 6.5/10
    Overall: 6.5/10

  11. #11
    Cadet
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by grk_styl
    EDUF1018 - Education, Teachers and Teaching
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturer - 1/10 i despised the Head Lecturer, and since she took most of the lectures, it was crap. the one who took "Knowledge" was equally crap, and spoke to us like we were 5 years old.
    Interest - 3/10 it made me rethink my degree choice.
    Overall - 3/10 i was definitely considering changing degrees. it was a crap subject and it was really boring

    EDUF1019 - Human Development & Education
    Ease - 9/10
    Lecturer - 10/10 Dr. Stephie is the best
    Interest - 10/10
    Overall - 10/10
    Lesley for 1018? I loved her. I thought it was a pretty important part of the degree though, knowing a bit of the sociology and paradigms of the profession and all that. Year II education subjects are more of the same, especially in second sem.

    At least you didn't get Laurel for 1019.
    Last edited by munchymoocow; 29 Dec 2005 at 1:19 AM.

  12. #12
    ... tennille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,548
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Subject Reviews

    CHEM1901: Chemistry 1A (advanced)
    Ease - 8/10
    Lecturer - 8/10 (First lecturer was a bit dodgy, but Kepert wasn't too bad)
    Interest - 8/10
    Overall - 8/10

    CHEM1902: Chemistry 1B (advanced)
    Ease - 5/10 (quite difficult stuff)
    Lecturer - 8/10 (They were both quite good, especially Trevor Hambley)
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 7/10

    PHYS1901- Physics 1A (advanced)
    Ease - 5/10 (I found it quite hard)
    Lecturer - 7/10
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 6/10 (I found it too stressful)

    PHYS1500- Astronomy
    Ease- 9/10 (but there's a lot to remember)
    Lecturer- 8/10
    Interest- 7/10 (I did astrophysics in year 12, so not many things new to me)
    Overall- 8/10

    MBLG1001- Molecular Biology and Genetics (Intro)
    Ease- 6/10 (the exam was quite hard)
    Lecturer- 8/10 (gets bad towards the end, though)
    Interest- 8/10
    Overall- 7/10

  13. #13
    P vs NP
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,982
    Rep Power
    11

    Re: Subject Reviews

    First year advanced maths subjects

    MATH1901 Differential Calculus (Adv)
    2005 Lecturer: Mrs Jenny Henderson

    Ease: 8
    Lecturer: 9
    Interest: 7
    Overall: 8

    The first few weeks are mostly revision work with a few new topics, such as the complex exponential function. The course is led on to more interesting topics later on, all presented by an excellent lecturer.

    MATH1902 Linear Algebra (Adv)
    2005 Lecturer: A/Prof Bob Howlett

    Ease: 7
    Lecturer: 7
    Interest: 6
    Overall: 7

    Personally I did not find Howlett's lecturering style very interesting, although I have been assured by the postgrad maths community that he is very good. The material isn't too hard, just algebraicly messy, with multiplication of matrices.

    MATH1903 Integral Calculus and Modelling (Adv)
    2005 Lecturer: Dr David Easdown

    Ease: 9
    Lecturer: 10
    Interest: 10
    Overall: 10+

    Easdown is a highly commended lecturer, and many who have been taught by him regard him as one of the best. The material is largely irrelevant as he has an amazing ability to make everything interesting and appealing, as well as simplifying the most complex problems. A level above the other 10s.

    MATH1904 Discrete Mathematics (Adv)
    2005 Lecturer: Dr Bill Palmer

    Ease: 10
    Lecturer: 9
    Interest: 10
    Overall: 10

    Ridiculously simple concepts of the course. Personally every mark lost was due to silly calculation errors rather than any unknowns. While not a step above the rest like Easdown, Palmer is up there with some of the best lecturers.

    MATH1905 Statistics (Adv)
    2005 Lecturer: Dr Marc Raimondo

    Ease: 7
    Lecturer: 4
    Interest: 5
    Overall: 5

    While the concepts and methods in stats is relatively easy, the way it is presented could be much improved upon. Raimondo's voice aids sleep rather than study, not to mention the lecturing material is copied in verbatim from Primer. The book, however, is just as boring as the lecturer, and anyone who can venture beyond a page or two without feeling sleepy or lost will be appreciated for their efforts.

    MATH1907 Maths SSP B
    2005 Topics: Vibrations and Waves, Ancestral Trees, Bernoulli Numbers and the Euler Maclaurin Formular
    2005 Lecturers: Dr Sanjeeva Balasuriya, Prof John Robinson, Dr Donald Cartwright

    Ease: 8/9/7
    Lecturer: 7/8/8
    Interest: 8/7/8
    Overall: 8

    Vibrations and Waves is an extension on use of calculus to solve differential equations, without much difficulty. Once past the stereotypical view on stats being boring, Ancestral Trees contains harder Markov chain but the assignment is straight forward and easy. While Bernoulli Numbers is an interesting topic, most people would find the algebra involved intimidating, where Mathematica would come in handy.
    Last edited by Templar; 25 Feb 2006 at 5:35 PM.

  14. #14
    Banned lala2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    HSC
    2005
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,794
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Tennille
    CHEM1902: Chemistry 1B (advanced)
    Ease - 5/10 (quite difficult stuff)
    Lecturer - 8/10 (They were both quite good, especially Trevor Hambley)
    Interest - 7/10
    Overall - 7/10
    Yeah, Trevor Hambley is the best! He's really interesting, and he always has some sort of experiment towards the end of the lecture to put it all in context. Plus, if you haven't learnt anything all lecture (but this is not the case with him ), the experiment will certainly keep you wide awake, and is a very effective silencer!

    Pity I had him for only 4 weeks this semester, and it was all stuff I knew anyway. Organic Chem is becoming a bore--it's not bad, but it's a shitload of stuff to learn. Plus the lectures go so fast that I can't keep pace for more than the first 15 minutes, and maybe the last 15 minutes if I recover sufficiently in the middle

  15. #15
    ... tennille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,548
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by lala2
    Yeah, Trevor Hambley is the best! He's really interesting, and he always has some sort of experiment towards the end of the lecture to put it all in context. Plus, if you haven't learnt anything all lecture (but this is not the case with him ), the experiment will certainly keep you wide awake, and is a very effective silencer!

    Pity I had him for only 4 weeks this semester, and it was all stuff I knew anyway. Organic Chem is becoming a bore--it's not bad, but it's a shitload of stuff to learn. Plus the lectures go so fast that I can't keep pace for more than the first 15 minutes, and maybe the last 15 minutes if I recover sufficiently in the middle
    Yeah, organic chem is full of memorising.

  16. #16
    Cadet
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Malfoy
    A pre-emptive subject review, considering it's unlikely to get much worse...

    ENGL1002: Narratives of Romance and Adventure
    Lecturer: Liam Semler (??) plus others


    Ease: 7 (I managed to finish my major essay in 1.5 hours)
    Lecturer: 2 (I quit going to lectures after the first three)
    Interest: 0 (As I said, I gave up on going cause I was that bored)
    Overall: 3 (The subject matter is completely dry. I feel completely unable get into it. Our tutor isn't particularly inspiring either... even those who've been into the subject material have been complaining.)
    I very much disagree on this one, I love almost everything about Engl 1002, particularly Liam Semler's lectures which are the best I've been to in my three semesters at Uni. I love this subject.

  17. #17
    droog
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    HSC
    2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    716
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Malfoy
    HSTY1025: The Middle Ages 500-1500
    Lecturers: Lynette Olson and Julie Smith


    Ease: 6 (Oh man, did I get caned on my 'Historical Significance' piece of work; plus there's a lot of reading)
    Lecturer: 10 (Lyn Olson is the bomb! I think Julie only took a couple because I missed two weeks of lectures due to union stuff, and they were the only weeks she was there. Seriously, though, I actually make time to go to the lectures, unlike just about everything else.)
    Interest: 10 (I'm loving this subject, particularly its focus on church history, Islamic history and some of the things that happened just after the collapse of the Western Roman Empire)
    Overall: 9 (I would have given it a 10 except for the difficulty)

    HSTY1076: American History from Lincoln to Clinton
    Lecturer: Clare Corbould


    Ease: 6 (A fair amount of reading and it's quite harshly marked. I was told 10% failed, 70% passed and only 20% got higher marks for the last assessment.)
    Lecturer: 9 (She's awesome and she's also my tute leader. She has a really dry sense of humour and covers the material in a coherent and easily-followed way.)
    Interest: 7 (This is bumped much higher due to the lecturer. I'm not as into cultural history as other aspects, and this course has a lot of focus on it. Plus, there's too much focus on 'minority group history', at least in the tutes, for my liking.)
    Overall: 7 (I love American history but I don't really like the focus of this course - based mostly on tutes, to be fair - as much as I should. Plus, too much cultural history.)


    Next semester will be interesting... I'm overloading so there'll be a lot more work involved.
    10 for interest in middle ages? its good but they completely ignore so much of the good stuff. same goes for american too, reducing the korean war to "it went back and forth a bit" and then going on to talk about impacts. both courses have gone too much society and culture for my liking with not enough on the interesting stuff (sex and war, we need more of it). that said both are still pretty interesting, i'd prob give 7 interest for both, 7 ease for middle ages, 8 ease for american, lecturers i'd reverse giving 10 to clare and 9 to lyn, but julie is more like a 7-8.

  18. #18
    Banned Silver Persian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    HSC
    2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,494
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Subject Reviews

    HSTY1045: Modern European History 1750-1914
    Lecturer: Robert Aldrich


    Ease: 7.5/10 (It's not marked too harshly and the texts + lectures are understandable. There is quite a lot of reading however, and its a hell of a lot of content to remember)
    Lecturer: 7/10 (Robert does a good job of making a v.broad topic logical and comprehensible - but the lectures can sometimes be a little dull and he talks too softly)
    Interest: 6/10 (Some weeks are interesting, some are v.v. dull)
    Overall: 7/10

    ECOP1001: Economics as a Social Science
    Lecturer: Frank Stilwell


    Ease: 7.5/10 (There is quite a lot of content here too. Its presented very well, but for people like me who did economics at high school it can be hard to adjust your brain into a Marxist/Institutionalist/Classical economic analysis)
    Lecturer: 10++/10 (Frank is the best lecturer ever.)
    Interest: 9/10 (A great course for getting into arguments with your liberal voting buddies. Reading the neoclassical theory sections is a drag though)
    Overal: 9/10 Great course. Everyone should do it.

    GOVT1105: Geopolitics
    Lecturer: Diamurd Macguire


    Ease: 7/10 (The content isnt hard but it is very very boring - its difficult to concentrate on what your doing)
    Lecturer: 3/10 (Unorganised, doesn't explain things very well, and sometimes he trails off his sentences so that you dont know what he is saying. Also, lectures are 2 hrs long - and finish at 6pm )
    Interest: 5/10 (Some weeks are interesting, some aren't. The readings are deadly boring)
    Overal: 4.5/10 (Not as interesting and fun as it sounds in the faculty handbook)

    SCLG1001: Introduction to Sociology
    Lecturer: Fiona Gill


    Ease: 8.5/10 (Lectures and texts are clear and not difficult to understand. A fair amount of content - but it is definitely possible to waffle through the course.
    Lecturer: 9/10 (Love Fiona)
    Interest: 9/10 (v. interesting, also good for getting into arguments with people. There is a lot to read, but it isn't boring.)
    Overall: 9/10 (Love this course.)

  19. #19
    Retired Rafy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    HSC
    2005
    Uni Grad
    2008
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    10,740
    Rep Power
    20

    Re: Subject Reviews

    ECOP1001: Economics as a Social Science
    Lecturer: Frank Stilwell

    Ease: 8/10 (Like Silver Persian says, after having done HSC economics, and having Keynesian/neo-classical theory hammered into you as absolute fact, it is intersting having it all challenged with alternative views.)
    Lecturer: 10/10. (Stillwell is one of the best.)
    Interest: 8/10. (Interesting content, certaintly gives a great overview of economic thought. I found some of the discussion in tutes to be quite left-wing though...)
    Overall: 8.5/10. (Definately something you should do if you get the chance)

    ECON1001: Introductory Microeconomics
    Lecturer: Natalia Ponomareva

    Ease: 8/10. (straight foward stuff. If you havent done maths at all, some of the content may baffle you at first though)
    Lecturer: 5/10. (I dont go to lectures anymore. Shes not that bad i guess, but Mirco can be a pretty dull subject and the lecturer can make it more interesting; something natalia fails to do.)
    Interest: 6/10 (Most of it is quite simple to me, so i quickly lost interest)
    Overall: 7/10

    CLAW1001 - Commercial Transactions A
    Lecturer: Giuseppe Carabetta

    Ease: 9/10 (Straight-foward content; identifying ALL of the issues in some of the problems can be a challenge. Also our major essay question lacked any point that was arguable.)
    Lecturer: 10/10. (Guiseppe is also one of the best. I hear behind the scenes though he can be quite ruthless in his administration of the course)
    Interest: 10/10. (Love the stuff. Cant get enough)
    Overall: 9.5/10

    GOVT1101 - Australian Politics
    Lecturer: Shelly Savage
    Ease: 10/10. (If you already follow politics, most of the content will be familiar. Even so, most of the stuff is basic.)
    Lecturer: 8/10. (She manages to sustain interest)
    Interest: 9.5/10. (As quite a political person, i find the course to be quite stimulating.)
    Overall: 8.5/10.
    Last edited by Rafy; 22 May 2006 at 4:17 PM.
    ボードオブスタディーズ

  20. #20
    is hating uni & study grk_styl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Location
    on the dance floor with a bottle of tequila
    Posts
    4,219
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Malfoy
    A pre-emptive subject review, considering it's unlikely to get much worse...

    EDUF1018: Education, Teachers and Teaching
    Lecturer: Lesley Scanlon (plus others)


    Ease: 7 (apparently 25% failed the major essay)
    Lecturer: 4 (Lesley was good, but the subject matter killed me. It was vacuous and at times overly PC. The history of classroom methods wasn't bad.)
    Interest: 8 (due solely to tutorial discussions)
    Overall: 6 (I'm expecting next semester to be much worse.)
    semester 2 for first year education subjects is awesome. Especially (actually ONLY) if you get Dr. Stephie! The subject is really interesting, and Dr. Stephie's outfits just brighten up (literally) your day!
    B Education (English)/B Arts (Psych) @ USYD 3rd year

    In my heart, in my head, it's so clear now,
    Hold my hand you've got nothing to fear now,
    I was lost and you've rescued me some how-.
    I'm alive, I'm in love you complete me,
    And I've never been here before.
    Now I see, what love means.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    HSC
    2003
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    479
    Rep Power
    11

    Re: Subject Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by stazi
    the finals will affect the ease of the subject. also, so will some upcoming topics (e.g. for ecmt1010 you may cover super-mega-hard regression in the last few weeks)
    More like memorise a few things on an excel output :P

  22. #22
    ... tennille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,548
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Subject Reviews

    CHEM2911
    Pretty interesting. The Spectroscopy and Aromatic Organic Chemistry is quite good. The Quantum stuff is not so good, especially when the lecturer is quite boring. The last part of the lecture series included an overview of AAS, AES and other methods of analysing samples- it was quite boring.

    BCHM2971
    The course wasn't too detailed so studying for it wasn't too difficult. The practicals aren't too bad.

    MBLG2071
    I enjoyed everything except Iain Campbell's lectures. No matter how many times I read over them, I couldn't understand anything. The lectures are fairly detailed, but the practicals are very enjoyable, especially the DNA Fingerprinting prac where you analyse your own DNA sample.

    STAT2011
    Quite a difficult course. Didn't enjoy it that much, especially when the lecturer is a deadshit.

  23. #23
    Nightman stazi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    14,125
    Rep Power
    20

    Re: Subject Reviews

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





    For those considering doing the subjects next year:

    MKTG 1001 - Marketing principles
    Ease: 8/10
    Lecturer: 6/10 (if you're not that interested in the advertising and psychological components of marketing) 7/10 if you are.
    Interest (ambiguous, as some people like maths others dont. some like hot chocolate. others like rape.): 7.5/10
    Overall: 6.5/10

    ECOP1001 - Economics as a social science
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: 10/10
    Interest: 9/10
    Overall: 10/10 (can't recommend this enough, i'm sure everyone will agree)

    WORK1001 - Foundations of Industrial Relations (to be transformed with work1002 into work1003)
    Ease: 8/10
    Lecturer: 10/10
    Interest: 7.5/10
    Overall: 8.5/10 (Great lecturer. Hillarious)

    ECMT1010 - Econometrics
    Ease: 3/10 (but I didn't do maths in year 11/12)
    Lecturer: Tig - 7.5/10; Murray Smith - 0.5/10
    Interest: 2/10
    Overall: 2/10

    WORK1002 - Foundations of HRM (transformed into work1003)
    Ease: 8/10
    Lecturer: 7.5/10
    Interest: 6/10
    Overall: 7/10

    GOVT1406 - international business and politics
    Ease: 5/10 (3 assessments in 5 weeks!!! - also marks very harshly)
    Lecturer: 7/10
    Interest: 5.5/10
    Overall: 4/10

    MKTG1002 - Marketing Research
    Ease: 8/10 - but you'll have to do a harder course combining 1002 and 3001
    Lecturer: 7/10 - a bit quiet but a top bloke
    Interest: 6/10
    Overall: 6.5/10

    MKTG2002 - Consumer Behaviour
    Ease: 8.5/10
    Lecturer: Same as for mktg1001
    Interest: 8.5/10
    Overall: 8/10

    IBUS3101 - fun assessments, but they don't really test course content. The bulk is an online strategy game, however, if you don't do well in week 1, you're pretty much screwed.
    Lecturer - 8/10
    Ease - 8.5/10
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 7/10
    Last edited by Rafy; 16 Jan 2009 at 11:15 PM.

  24. #24
    ymyum
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    HSC
    2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    3,474
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Subject Reviews

    ACCT2012 - pretty boring, too many annoying asians
    Lecturer - 5/10
    Ease - 8/10
    Interest: 3/10
    Overall: 5/10

    ECOP2011 - pretty fun, good lectures, good content, fairly bludgy
    Lecturer - 8.5/10
    Ease - 8/10
    Interest: 8.5/10
    Overall: 8.5/10

    CLAW1001 - didnt go to any lectures, pretty fucking easy, pretty interesting
    Lecturer - N/A
    Ease - 8.5/10
    Interest: 7/10
    Overall: 7/10

    GOVT2226 - very difficult exam, only one big assessment, quite a lot of readings, very hardlined on rules, definitely not for one wanting to take it easy
    Lecturer - 5/10
    Ease - 5/10
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 7/10
    PM for tutoring services.

    CLICK HERE

  25. #25
    Executive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    1,148
    Rep Power
    9

    Red face Re: Subject Reviews

    brogan77, why is ACCT 1002 gay?
    and was last year's fail rate really 40%?


    I really wish that I don't hear too many people chatting in class anymore....

    I get so fucking pissed in some classes coz I couldn't hear the lecturer (even when I sit at the very front row....some ignorant people choose to sit at the very front and still dare to fucking chat); there are way tooooooooooooooo many selfish people who fucking talk so loud and rudely like everyone else is invisible, and I couldn't do anything about it.

Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •