Page 32 of 32 FirstFirst ... 22303132
Results 776 to 793 of 793
Like Tree180Likes

Thread: UNSW Subject Reviews.

  1. #776
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    3

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wingardium View Post
    MARK1012

    For those that are considering MARK1012 as an option for commerce because they've heard its a massive WAM booster - its not. Instead it can seriously bellyflop ur WAM.
    Marketings probably the most ridiculous/stupid/gayest subject you can ever do and is horrendously risky cos 40% of the marks are derived from groupwork. IF u end up with international students who can't speak good english/Local students who ended up with a band4/low band 5 in english, chances are UR GONEEEE!!! Some of the tutors are heaps homosexual and have this mentality that everyone should be given a P/C (cos they wanna make this stupid course seemingly hard) +60% of ur marks are class marks...finals can't really change ur destiny unless u fail that.
    If u died in MGMT1001, not a good idea to do MARK1012. If ur an eloquent, blond haired, talkative and highly opinionated fella/debater. Prolly gonna end up ur favourite subject...u could even limit the risk by coordinating ur entire class into Law students. Should seriously rally all ur friends into ur class as taht gives u a confidence boost during presentation. Quiz marking/class mark determination is also really subjective...Marking scheme makes no sense (for a question out of 4 ->if student writes this...1.5, if he does this 0.5...the other 2 marks?!?! no idea)
    Another weird issue with the quizzes was that u could easily jig a quiz and do it in 2 weeks provided u had a reason?! lik wtf half the class ended up going on a jewish holiday and did it 3 weeks later...when everyone got their marked quizzes back.

    EASE: 9/10 contents easy/boring...just have to memorise loads of useless information(preferably entire textbook/lecture notes lik yeah wtf) and quizzes can sometimes ask the most random crap. Marketing concepts are really supid and gay Dogs,Question marks,stars, wtf subject for fags. Loads of acronyms.
    LECTURER:1/10 heaviest indian accent out there this mohammad rozzaque. His a lazy fag who doesnt reply on ANY emails -> diverts u to this discussion board which he rarely replies to as well (and when he does its a one worded reply: Yes/No/Maybe). His final was just copy and pasted from this previous final that he distributed to everyone weeks b4. Tutor was indian as well...guest speakers in lectures were indian...everyone in charge of marketing was indian...youtube videos shown were indian...started reading my own textbook with in indian accent in my head fml. His really careless as well - gave us answers that completely mismatched past papers
    INTEREST: 2/10 never again in my life
    OVERALL: 1/10

    FINS1613
    EASE:6/10 some concepts pretty hard but interesting
    LECTURER: Kyung 8/10, Humperies 6/10 (he seems like a genius tho)
    INTEREST: 8/10
    OVERALL 8/10

    MATHS1141
    EASE:3/10 hardest final out there -> everything else was similar to 1131(ie relatively easy)
    LECTURER: 9/10 forgot who they were but they were really passionate bout maths
    INTEREST: 6/10 did 4U but absolutely no interest
    OVERALL: 5/10
    don't touch unless ur maths genius DO 1131 FOR A WAM BOOSTER!!!


    Hi,

    How do they allocate the groups in this marketing subject?

  2. #777
    Cadet dust3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    HSC
    2014
    Uni Grad
    2018
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Location
    Marrickville
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    COMP1927
    Ease: 8/10 love linked lists, double linked lists - my favorite
    Lecturer: John Sheppard 8/10 - Damn does this guy smoke a bag of weed/hashish before every lecture he gives? He's very nice though.
    Tutor: Some guy with glasses 5/10 - flamboyant nerd guy, knows his stuff quite well but very very annoying.
    Overall: 9/10 I liked this better than COMP1917 simply because it's not recorded, and that it provides you to think like a Computer science student.

    MATH1231
    Ease: 8/10 for Calculus 4/10 for Alebgra
    Lecturer: DOCTOR Bill Ellis (0/10). DOCTOR Bill Ellis, Shit lecturer - avoid this guy at all costs. Insists him that we must call him by that name (DR ELLIS)- is probably the most stuck up person I know on this planet. He yells at people who try and take a pic of the lecture slides (it's not even his lecture slides, he got it from some other lecturer (the legendary Chris Tisdell's lecture slides). And his actual lecturing style, just repeats word after word from the slides.
    Chi Mak (8/10) - good lecturer, draws very cute birds and animates it to the class, which I like! He uploads the whole week's worth of lecturer every Friday.
    Tutor: Peter Brown (10+/10) - very knowledgeable and most people on bos knows how good of a lecturer he really is.
    forgot the other person (8/10) - good tutor, hands test papers but the same day if you go to her office.
    Overall: 9/10 I liked the course, gives a good introduction to linear transformation (which I don't really like) that maybe useful for future studies for computer science

    can't be bothered writing up my other course.

  3. #778
    Member dirty_ink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    HSC
    2014
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    349
    Rep Power
    3

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    them sociology courses are my jam
    Heaven's net is wide, but its mesh is fine.

  4. #779
    Senior Member integral95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    HSC
    2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    659
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by dust3 View Post
    COMP1927
    Ease: 8/10 love linked lists, double linked lists - my favorite
    Lecturer: John Sheppard 8/10 - Damn does this guy smoke a bag of weed/hashish before every lecture he gives? He's very nice though.
    Tutor: Some guy with glasses 5/10 - flamboyant nerd guy, knows his stuff quite well but very very annoying.
    Overall: 9/10 I liked this better than COMP1917 simply because it's not recorded, and that it provides you to think like a Computer science student.

    MATH1231
    Ease: 8/10 for Calculus 4/10 for Alebgra
    Lecturer: DOCTOR Bill Ellis (0/10). DOCTOR Bill Ellis, Shit lecturer - avoid this guy at all costs. Insists him that we must call him by that name (DR ELLIS)- is probably the most stuck up person I know on this planet. He yells at people who try and take a pic of the lecture slides (it's not even his lecture slides, he got it from some other lecturer (the legendary Chris Tisdell's lecture slides). And his actual lecturing style, just repeats word after word from the slides.
    Chi Mak (8/10) - good lecturer, draws very cute birds and animates it to the class, which I like! He uploads the whole week's worth of lecturer every Friday.
    Tutor: Peter Brown (10+/10) - very knowledgeable and most people on bos knows how good of a lecturer he really is.
    forgot the other person (8/10) - good tutor, hands test papers but the same day if you go to her office.
    Overall: 9/10 I liked the course, gives a good introduction to linear transformation (which I don't really like) that maybe useful for future studies for computer science

    can't be bothered writing up my other course.
    Yeah he's like a GOD, don't take him for granted.
    I've also heard bad things about Ellis, like during tutes he would scream at people who got an answer wrong, you wonder why people don't bother to answer.
    dust3 likes this.
    “Smart people learn from their mistakes. But the real sharp ones learn from the mistakes of others.”
    ― Brandon Mull

  5. #780
    Vexed?
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Antartica
    Posts
    272
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by integral95 View Post
    Yeah he's like a GOD, don't take him for granted.
    I've also heard bad things about Ellis, like during tutes he would scream at people who got an answer wrong, you wonder why people don't bother to answer.
    It's recommended, by professionals, that you take pictures of the lecture slides with your phones during his lectures. They are not recorded.

  6. #781
    Loquacious One turntaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,956
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Is micro economics a good gen ed?
    "I have crippling depression" -Mahatma Gandhi
    Quote Originally Posted by Katsumi View Post
    lol

  7. #782
    Cadet dust3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    HSC
    2014
    Uni Grad
    2018
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Location
    Marrickville
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by He-Mann View Post
    It's recommended, by professionals, that you take pictures of the lecture slides with your phones during his lectures. They are not recorded.
    Most courses at UNSW are recorded, however the shithouse lecturer (talking about Ellis) writes using the overhead projector, and the recording doesn't pick that up.
    Computer Science II @ UNSW
    Sometimes I don't wear footwear to uni

  8. #783
    Vexed?
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Antartica
    Posts
    272
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by turntaker View Post
    Is micro economics a good gen ed?
    Something good to someone may be bad for someone else.

    Read the course summary and it's outline (PDF) to see if it qualifies as good to you.

  9. #784
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    HSC
    2012
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    I'm currently taking up Commerce at UNSW. I'm worried w/ ACCT1501 & ECON1101 because my raw marks are 24/45 & 27/50 respectively. Can I still pass?

  10. #785
    Member kawaiipotato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    445
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by filagirl1 View Post
    I'm currently taking up Commerce at UNSW. I'm worried w/ ACCT1501 & ECON1101 because my raw marks are 24/45 & 27/50 respectively. Can I still pass?
    Yes, in terms of passing, you'll have to at least get 50% in the final exams for both (iirc they aren't "double pass" subects and they were weighted around 50% of your final grade).
    Sxc avatar made by a sxc person: carrotontheground http://community.boredofstudies.org/...otontheground/

  11. #786
    Yogurt RenegadeMx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    HSC
    2013
    Uni Grad
    2017
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,233
    Rep Power
    3

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    alright im bored/drunk lets do this

    Edst4096 - Gifted/Talented

    Ease: 8/10 assignment questions a bit hard to interpret at first, but once u get rolling hard to fail. Also does depend on your teaching method - goodluck finding articles for visual arts

    Content: 8/10 - contradicts a lot of what you learn in other courses but as this focuses more on the upper end of intelligence a lot of the strategies and resources are useful.

    Lecture: Smith 8/10 - quite helpful answers questions and queries like ASAP, very knowledgeable in the area and does mix up the lecture a bit to make it engaging

    Tutor: Hay - 5/10 - answers questions but overall quite average and the tutorial content itself was boring considered the lecture was standard enough, if it wasnt the comulsory attendance id skip most

    Overall: 8/10 Probably one of the better core courses. By 3rd/4th year you should have a decent english level to not struggle in this course and overall will help you if you teach at selective or for the 1 random gifted kid u get in western sydney




    Math3560 - History of maths


    Ease: 9/10 - would be 10, but fuck group work. Nothing really mathematical about it, its literally an essay writing where u put some equations every so often.

    Content: 9/10 - depends on a personal basis, but was quite interesting to actually see how advanced greeks were for the time and the often forgotten contribution from india/arab before the european powerhouse

    Lecturer: Wildberger 10/10 - quite engaging really does make the 9am lectures interesting, you also get to understand why he is a walking meme

    Tutor : N/A

    Overall: 7/10 - its only 3 UOC so you will be forced to pair it with Calculus which is pure aids and why its not 10/10





    Math3570 - Foundations of Calculation


    Ease : 0/10 - every1 did so shit that he had to scale every single assessment task and the final to ensure like 50% dont fail the course. (test 2 had an average of 18/50 which still only scaled to 18/40). Assignments are cancer but ironically this will make most of you marks for the course so place effort into it. heavy proof course and very definition specific

    Content: 0/10 - go over the foundations so you do calculus just like the 1800s so ironically u dont learn anything new except how much u hate epsilons and deltas

    Lecturer: Crocker 2/10 - Always was behind in lectures had to go into week 13 to cover everything... Basically far better in Complex Analysis than this, most likely due to nature of course

    Tutor: N/A

    Overall 0/10. For a 3UOC course you are better off having people shit on you. Do not recommend this or the higher course unless you are forced in your degree to do it. Hopefully with trimesters they can fix this shit course up but I highly doubt it





    Psyc1022- Addiction

    Ease: 9/10 - Online, midsem and finals are multi choice, essay is like 1000 words. Lots of shit to remember though so all rote learning

    Content: 10/10 goes into every detail of addiction including the biology so I found it quite interesting, though it still wont save me from alcohol.

    Lecturer: N/A - i just read lecture slides didnt bother with audio so no score

    Tutor: N/A

    Overall: 9/10 Not exactly a WAM booster like astronomy but still is a nice elective to do if you want to keep a nice timetable
    Last edited by RenegadeMx; 6 Jul 2017 at 12:22 AM.
    pikachu975 likes this.



    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowdude View Post
    other bos-ers have a penis pic sharing club and i'm debating whether i want in on it or not


    ~just so i belong~
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowdude View Post
    who cares about your timetable - you should be going into uni every day to study and do whatever regardless

  12. #787
    listening to tapes Squar3root's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    HSC
    2017
    Uni Grad
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    welcome to ur tape
    Posts
    4,724
    Rep Power
    7

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    manf4611

    Ease: 5/10, course content is extremely vague, not all of it is related to the exam. only ron's part of the stats was, tbh the final was pretty easy

    Content: 1/10 basically the whole course was doing a group assignment about optimising a system using simulations. it was very tedious

    Lecturer: all 3 lectures are 1/10. they do not make the course interesting. it does have potential like simulating smaller systems etc but this was just over the top having a simulation run for 52 cycles on a yearly basis.

    Tutor: tutors were same as lectures 1/10

    Overall: 1/10 would not recommend as a prof elective, core course for mtrn and manf students

    comp2121
    ease: 4/10. learning about how a processor works, again very tedious will never use anything i have learnt in this course irl.
    content: the content was taught through labs with is just tedious. making leds light up when interrupts were enabled, making sounds on a board etc it just takes a lot of time. make sure to google "cloudier 2121" for lab code. 3/10
    lecturer: didn't go to any so can't comment but from what ive heard he wasn't that great
    tutor: our tutors were strict markers, if you can't explain even 1 line of code they mark you down. sometimes they did help us write the code and show us how things worked like words and bytes 2/10
    overall: 3/10 would not recommend was not interesting

    elec2141
    ease: 8/10 fairly straightforward course, there is a lot of stuff packed into it. a lot of design concepts were if you misunderstand the question ur fucked
    content: 7/10 fair interesting tbh. basically picks up from the last part of elec1111.
    lecturer: "elways" 6/10 hard to understand him but he's alright
    tutor: chinese phd guy. just wrote solutions on the board and didn't help us understand it. 2/10
    overall: 8/10 dececnt course, easy to do well in especially assignments. make sure that u google the question because the lecturer or whoever set the assignment basically copied it from a textbook and there are worked solutions on the internet

    gens5003
    basically 2 assignments worth 40% and 60%. i spent maybe all up 20hrs on this course writing about safety on flights and the flight 3411 incident. easy course to do last minute and end up with a distinction
    4025808 and pikachu975 like this.
    Free MX1 Notes: http://tinyurl.com/freeMX1notes
    B Engineering (I have no idea anymore) @UNSW IV

  13. #788
    aoc
    aoc is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    102
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Hopefully more people start posting their reviews for this sem:

    Econ1101:
    Ease: 8/10 - Pretty easy overall except there were a few concepts that were hard to wrap my head around but they have a question forum where tutors always respond so thats pretty helpful. Also note they started marking the prefinal tests a lot harder i think the average for a couple classes was 7/15 for both tests. So you needa know your stuff.

    Content: Basically above

    Lecturer: Didnt watch any so cant comment but the textbook has everything you need to know

    Tutors: Really helpful and my tutor went over the questions we wanted him to go over rather than the set material

    Overall: Interesting/fairly easy would recommend

    Acct1501:7-8/10
    It was quite hard for me at first hence the 7 but towards the end of the semester when everything kind of came together and made sense i found the course to be super easy.

    Content: I dont really like accounting so it was incredibly dry for me but i did have friends who did business studies in HSC that loved it (i didnt do business so i wouldnt know if its similar)

    Lecturer: Didnt watch any so cant comment

    Tutor: Not really helpful they upload the answers at the end of the week and everyone is basically hunting for participation marks resulting in unproductive lessons

    Math1041
    Ease: 9/10

    Content - Straight forward nothing too difficult but there was an assingment where they kinda throw you in the deepend and expect you to know things they barely mention. The content is kind of interesting since they introduce you to concepts you dont learn about in hsc (at least if you did 3u/4u math)

    Lecturer: The lecturer Jakob Staklosa was 10/10 and goes pretty slow with the content which i think is pretty helpful and he explains every step which was really helpful.

    Tutorial: Biggest waste of time, they hardly help you with anything so i was just waiting for the tutor to write the solutions on the board so i could take pictures of the answers

    overall: 9/10. Good wambooster/ interesting intro to stats

    Psyc1001
    Ease:6-8/10

    Content: would rate it 6-7/10 in terms of content cause theres literally a shitload of content. Every single word said by the lecturer is examinable no matter how insignificant you think it was. Midsem was a shitshow was really hard but finals was pretty easy and for the most part covered the main concepts. (i think its a trend where they make midsem super hard and finals decent). Although the content was interesting there was too much to cover for me to fully enjoy the subject. Note that the content was not particularly hard to understand or anything. It was quite straight forward.

    Lecturer: Some were fantastic some were horrible depends whether you like lecturers who cover their content quickly or slowly

    Tutorials: Not really helpful for content but they usually had discussions about main concepts or videos to watch so it was definitely interesting.

    Overall 8/10: Content was interesting but assingments were marked quite harshly and there was too much content.
    Last edited by aoc; 11 Jul 2017 at 6:00 PM.
    pikachu975 and Esse like this.

  14. #789
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    MATH1081: Discrete Maths

    Ease: 8/10. Very easy finals this semester imo, however I got deducted some marks in internals.
    Content: 10/10. Found it very interesting, specially the proof and logic section.
    Lecturer: Catherine Greenhill 10/10. Very enthusiastic lecturer with high end explanations and is mindful that the lectures are being properly recorded. Also does every proof on paper! Denis Trenerry 8/10. Alright lecturer.
    Tutor: 10/10. David Crocker. Great tutor who goes beyond what is expected. Can be a bit of a cunt sometimes but his skill and experience makes up for it.
    Overall: 9/10. Finals were lifesaving

    MATH1141: Higher Math 1A

    Ease: 8/10. Had great internals but didnt do so well in my finals
    Content: 8/10. Alright for math I guess.
    Lecturers: 6/10. Alina/Fedor. Stopped going after 3rd week. Not interesting imo. I'm a bad student tho :/
    Tutor: 10/10. Daniel Chan/ Schief Wolfgang. Pretty cool tutors who applied great knowledge while teaching.
    Overall: 9/10. Expected finals to be easier tbh

    PHYS1131: Higher Physics 1A

    Ease: 7/10. The biweekly quizzes were hard as fuck some of them. Gave me anxiety every week
    Content: 6/10. Dont like phys :/
    Lecturers: 5/10. Wolfie/Alex. Tbh I stopped going to lecturers after 3rd week while Wolf was doing mechanics and did not come back when Alex came. Imo the mechanics topic was poorly taught with me having to go to the textbook to find better explanations. (Me hating phys could be bias in this reasoning tho)
    Labs/OTH: 9.5/10. Easy if you do the working out at home and are prepared.
    Overall: 7/10. In hindsight I should have gone to lectures and not having been behind the whole semester.

    ENGG1000: Design and Innovation

    Picked the BioMed project.
    Ease: 8/10. Dont like doing reports nor writing weekly shit on a book
    Content: 3/10. There is nothing to be learnt from this course. The innovation part of this course is thrown out of the window as you can literally come on the test day with a fucking piece of wood strapped to your arm and call it a day.
    Lectures: 8/10 guest lecturers, interesting sometimes. 2/10 host lecturers (Heba/Michael) or should I say slide readers.
    Overall: 6/10. An useless course. You better be in Heba's class if you decide to choose this project, otherwise she will be the one to mark your (group) written assessments and fuck you over. (In all honesty she was alright marker, just a bit anal about things).
    pikachu975 likes this.

  15. #790
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    3

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    ACCT1501
    Ease: 8/10 Not rocket science, just require a certain degree of effort and everything will be fine.
    Content: 4/10 It's accounting, can't expect much colourful from it anyway.
    Lecture: ?/10 Didn't attend at all.
    Overall: 7/10 Just a bit of effort can guarantee you a high Credit at the very least..

    FINS1613
    Ease: 6.5/10 Although it is just like plugging numbers into equation, it does require understanding to the question and the concept itself. This is certainly harder than ACCT1501 in overall.
    Content: 6/10 More interesting than ACCT1501 but also takes longer time to grasp the concept.
    Lecture: ?/10 Didn't attend at all.
    Overall: 7.5/10 It's very hard to fail this course, but also difficult to reach high end mark too.

    INFS1602
    Ease: 8/10 Need more effort on this not because its technically or conceptually hard, its because of the contents that you will need to memorise.
    Content: 4/10 Can't say its interesting or not interesting either, if anyone did HSC Business Studies, it's similar but more on technology topic.
    Lecture: 7/10 The only one I attend in this semester because lecture recording don't exist lol..
    Overall: 6/10 Piece of advice, consistently participate in tutorial, get a decent assignment group and some effort into memorizing, you shall reach to low Distinction easily. Don't be like me and get a group that haunt you for life...

    ECON1203
    Ease: 5/10 Equation itself is okay, just that the concept of it is hard, I often just blindly follow the 'rules' without really understanding the mechanism behind it.
    Content: 6/10 Interesting but time consuming.
    Lecture; ?/10 Didn't attend, reckon I would just be as confuse sitting in there for 2 hours.
    Overall: 6/10 Again, if your semester has a group assignment, get a decent partner. You should also attempt all tutorial works IN TIME. Assume that your math is so-so, all these should guarantee you an easy Pass.
    Last edited by BHLee; 12 Jul 2017 at 2:50 PM.

  16. #791
    Senior Member KingOfActing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    944
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    dont do scif its a wam killer
    2015 HSC
    Mathematics 2U
    2016 HSC
    Advanced English, Drama, Maths 3U, Maths 4U, Music 2, Extension Music, Chemistry, Software Design & Development
    Currently studying
    Advanced Mathematics (Hons)/Computer Science @ UNSW (2017– )

  17. #792
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    MATH1141: Higher Math 1A
    Ease: 6/10. Good internals, but finals has 4 sections (with the first 2 being same as 1131), after the first 2 sections it gets tough and you instantly regret choosing 1141 (had no free marks, unlike 1131's last 2 piss easy sections)
    Content: 8/10. Alright. If you did ext2. calculus should be fine, however algebra will hav more new material like linear algebra,matrices
    Lecturers: 6/10. wolfe/daniel. Decent, nevertheless the book of notes saved me
    Tutor: 10/10. idk. Class tests should be fine, just do past class tests
    Overall: 8/10. I found calculus easier, idk felt like i couldnt visualise the linear algebra stuff. Also found out you dont need to pass the final exam (meaning you just need 50%+ overall to pass) a few days before it, so I instantly turned my attention towards phys

    Engg1811
    Ease: 6/10 Divided in 3 parts: spreadsheets,openoffice coding, matlab coding. With each one getting harder progressively.
    Content: 6/10 decent
    Lecture: 4/10 Ashesh. Has a thick indian accent, that will take you a week to get use to (surprisingly becomes easier on lecture recordings). He talks about random stuff in every lecture that has nothing to do with computing, your job is to filter it out and only pay attention to when he does coding examples/tasks
    Overall: 7/10 Had a beast tutor that saved me, by answering any questions I had

    PHYS1121: Physics 1A
    Ease: 5/10. The biweekly quizzes were decent, just collab with mates, if you got none google the phys questions, some of them have answers
    Content: 6/10. Just do problems
    Lecturers: 5/10. Dimi/Angstman. This year they first utilised webstream lectures, online mechanics lectures were shite, due to joe wolfe never getting to the point. HOWEVER the online lectures by angstman for thermal/waves SAVED my ass. They were done so good, highlights include: First you learn the content, then you do problems. If you dont know the answer to the problem, a solution video is shown with FULL working. Basically I recommend going to the physical lectures for mechanics but jig the thermal/waves because the online version is the same + more problems(and full working out) + ability to rewind when you daydream.
    Labs/OTH: 9.5/10. Easy, had a partner that was a god at labs. Other is useless except maybe the practice tests.
    Overall: 6/10. Webstream lectures for thermal/waves + God Lab partner + Mates that helped me with the fortnightly quizzes + Memorising how to do past paper questions is how I passed this hellish course. Note that I learnt 0 in mechanics, had the chance to fix myself up in the mid sem break (but didnt), first started to give it my all when thermal started.

  18. #793
    I complete the Squar3 Queenroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    My bathtub
    Posts
    7,112
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    ANAT3411 - Neuroanatomy:

    Ease: 7/10

    - Spot tests: These were tough. They're done online unlike conventional spot tests. You have drop down menus to choose the right answer but there are like 50 options. Very difficult format I hated it. Also study everything in the pracs really well, you'll need it for identifying the cross sections of the brain stem etc.
    - Group Assignment: Fairly straightforward. Beak up the parts of the assignment and just do it. Not sure how I went in this as they didn't give us our marks back but pretty sure we did relatively well.
    - Final exam: study your butt off. They also give pictures of cross sections so be ready. There were options in the questions to choose what to answer so make sure you read them carefully. Know some stuff really well and others you can get away with knowing a little bit.

    Content: 10/10

    Besides all the tedious bits this course is very interesting in terms of neurological disorders.

    Lecturers:

    Jason's lectures were hard to understand, he abbreviated a lot of stuff and assumed you knew what they were. Information overload and he went through everything very quickly. 6/10

    Pascal was slow and steady and he explained things well 9/10


    Tutor: 7/10

    Pascal as a tutor is different to his lecturing. He goes off tangents and there wasn't a single lab we finished on time. He is extremely slow when it comes to labs but he does explain every small detail which is good.

Page 32 of 32 FirstFirst ... 22303132

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •