Page 1 of 32 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 793
Like Tree180Likes

Thread: UNSW Subject Reviews.

  1. #1
    I AM ANGRY. bringbackshred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,864
    Rep Power
    10

    UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Seeing as the main forums for most other unis have it, we might as well have one too. Try to keep this alive, and mods: if you think this deserves a sticky, do so.

    A collation of all reviews found so far can be found here (courtesy darkwolfzx): http://www.cse.unsw.edu.au/~szyw414/...%20reviews.pdf

    Basically, this thread should serve as a guide to people who may be interested in doing a course and want to know what it's like. It'd be a handy resource.

    So, let's start:
    PECO1000:
    Ease: 9/10
    Lecturer(s): 10/10 (George), 1/10 (Lynne), 1/10 (Michael)
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 8/10

    ECON1101:
    Ease: 6/10 (I didn't go to class)
    Lecturer: I only had Stegman, and he's brilliant. 10/10. If you want to do well at Micro 1, get Stegosaur.
    Interest: 7/10. Can be a bit dry, but it is interesting nonetheless.

    POLS1018:
    Ease: 9/10
    Lecturer: 9/10. Facilitated class discussion well. Good for learning.
    Interest: 8/10.
    Overall: 3/10. This course is very biased and it gets rather annoying at times.

    PHIL1008:
    Ease: 8/10
    Lecturer: 7/10. Apparently he basically just read the readings out. I wouldn't know because I didn't do readings.
    Interest: 7/10
    Overall: 7/10. Interesting, but also somewhat dry. Tutes are fun though.

    Add some more courses of your own kids... It'd be nice to see this become a decent thread.
    Last edited by bringbackshred; 18 Jun 2008 at 1:06 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Chris.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    HSC
    2006
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    538
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by bringbackshred

    ECON1101:
    Ease: 6/10 (I didn't go to class)
    Lecturer: I only had Stegman, and he's brilliant. 10/10. If you want to do well at Micro 1, get Stegosaur.
    Interest: 7/10. Can be a bit dry, but it is interesting nonetheless.
    This is pretty much accurate, although ease would be a 7 or 8 for me whether you go to class or not.

    Macro 1:

    Ease: 6/10
    Lecturer: i cant remember..
    Interest: 7/10

    QMA:
    Ease: 5/10
    Lecturer: forgot his name but it was the tall white dude with curly hair, he was the best. 10/10.
    Interest: depends whether you like maths or not. 5/10

    QMB:
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: never went.
    Interest: easier than QMA, but alot more mundane. 4/10

    Acct1501:
    Ease: 5/10
    Lecturer: some bitch, apparently she doesnt work at unsw anymore.
    Interest: 2/10 - i hate accounting

    Legt1711:
    Ease: 6/10
    Lecturer: 2/10 - really fucking boring. the worst monotone voice to accompany the theory if you still have jane(?).
    Interest: 3/10 - hence, i dont do legt subjects anymore

    Marketing Fundamentals:

    Ease: 9/10 - not as easy as a gened..lol
    Lecturer: 6-7/10 - really boring lecturer, but the content is interesting.
    Interest: 8/10 - most interesting subject ive had so far with macro.

    GENS8003 - Work & Safety

    Ease: 10/10 - quizzes where u just read the info off webct and answer the quiz
    Lecturer: none, its online. There is just readings, its not necessary to read all of it.
    Interest: 2/10 - what do you expect?

    I will review the others i did this semester once i get results..

  3. #3
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    From ENGG1811 2006 Session 1.
    (The older ghey course as someone stated before it became the fantastic new one that I did.)

    Short summary of the course :: irrelevant and boring learning to use VB. did html which everyone allready knew, excel and databases were fine
    Fuck off...

    ghey ghey ghey ghey
    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ROFL.
    They should put this one on the lecture slides for 2008 Session 2 and later years.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Starcraftmazter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    842
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    I'll game.

    COMP 1917: (Higher Computing)
    Ease: 9/10
    Lecturer(s): 11/10 (Richard)
    Tutor(s):11/10 (John Shepherd)
    Interest: 11/10
    Overall: 12/10
    Most awesome course this semester

    INFS 1603: (Business Data Management)
    Ease: 10/10
    Lecturer: 0/10
    Tutor: -10/10
    Interest: -infinity/10.
    Most idiotic course ever.

    MATHS 1131: (Mathematics 1A)
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: 10/10 for Angel, 9/10 for Mak
    Tutors: 10/10 for all.
    Interest: 9/10.
    Overall: 9/10.
    It's pretty good, a lot of the stuff (especially calculus) is just 4unit highschool stuff, so it required the least study of all my courses.

    MATHS 1081 (Discrete Mathematics)
    Ease: 1/10
    Lecturer: 10/10 Frances, 5/10 for whoever our current lecturer is.
    Tutor: 10/10, Angel is brilliant.
    Interest: 8/10 - Yeh, it's pretty interesting and very relevant to computing, but really hard.
    Overall: 6/10.
    I really dislike how the class tests are far too hard....far far far too hard. This on top of pretty much the entire course being totally new and all of it being very hard is very frustrating.

  5. #5
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    As if matrices are in 4-unit.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Starcraftmazter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    842
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Well I said especially caluclus, and a lot of the stuff - not all :P
    Matricies are actually ridiculously simple. Now vector geomentry on the other hand...

    Well maybe I just didn't get enough time to study the latter.

  7. #7
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Starcraftmazter
    Well I said especially caluclus, and a lot of the stuff - not all :P
    Matricies are actually ridiculously simple. Now vector geomentry on the other hand...

    Well maybe I just didn't get enough time to study the latter.
    Yeah, the point of MATH1131 was to fix up many of the dodgy definitions and theorems used in HSC Maths which I was barely aware of anyway.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Starcraftmazter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    842
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Same here

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    HSC
    2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    586
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Discrete maths was fucking shit. I hated it.
    BEng Mechanical/BSc Computer Science

    UNSW

  10. #10
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    LOL, no one approves of Discrete Maths, everywhere.
    "It's been hated for years", says the lady at the Engineering Student Centre office.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Starcraftmazter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    842
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    I don't don't why they just don't make the tests easier - that would make the course tolorable, and prevent half the people from failing it.

  12. #12
    Executive Member gman03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    HSC
    2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,286
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Forbidden.
    LOL, no one approves of Discrete Maths, everywhere.
    "It's been hated for years", says the lady at the Engineering Student Centre office.
    What? I love discrete maths! It twists a lot of peoples mind.

    Someone: Hey g, can I copy your notes?
    Me: If you copy my notes, you give me $10 dollar.
    Someone: Nevermind then.
    Me: Still, give me $10.
    Someone: Why?
    Me: Because false implies true is true.
    Someone: WTF?

  13. #13
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by gman03
    What? I love discrete maths! It twists a lot of peoples mind.

    Someone: Hey g, can I copy your notes?
    Me: If you copy my notes, you give me $10 dollar.
    Someone: Nevermind then.
    Me: Still, give me $10.
    Someone: Why?
    Me: Because false implies true is true.
    Someone: WTF?
    This is why I chose not to do a Computing, Software or Electrical major.

  14. #14
    Focus BIGTYMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    ?
    Posts
    451
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Forbidden.
    As if matrices are in 4-unit.
    matrices are in the IB
    My crossover might put you on the floor.

  15. #15
    Executive Member gman03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    HSC
    2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,286
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Forbidden.
    This is why I chose not to do a Computing, Software or Electrical major.
    Because we are weird?

    Comon!

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    771
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    MDCM1000
    Ease: 8.5/10 (Some of the readings were confusing and some tute questions were hard but overall easy if you engage with a lot of media all the time)
    Lecturer(s): 9/10 (Scott) - Pretty entertaining american bloke
    Interest: 9/10 (More stuff on sound would of been nice but it was still interesting)
    Overall: 9/10 (Interesting course if you're keen on digital media theory and practice, I would of given it 10 if we went into more detail with photoshop as it was just a basic introduction to it)

    MEFT1200
    Ease: 5/10 (The readings were too fucking long and tutes are hard to participate in when you havent seen 50,000 films. People in my tute were too smart.
    Lecturer(s): 6/10 (Greg) and 6/10 (Michelle) - Both pretty average
    Interest: 6/10 - Kinda dry, I didn't find the writing about film or industry part interesting. Learning about how a film works was alright but it reminded me a bit of HSC english, ewwwww. The first few screenings were cool but the rest I didn't even bother attending cauz they were either silent films or old fashioned stuff, not my thing.
    Overall: 5/10

    MGMT1001
    Ease: 7.5/10 (HSC business has helped heaps with this subject but the group assignment was kinda painful and this exam on friday is looking pretty shit too)
    Lecturer: Hugh (7.5/10) - Fairly young bloke, cracked a few jokes every now and then (I stopped attending lectures after week 6 and just downloaded the slides instead, 9am monday lectures were a killer.)
    Interest: 6/10 (Most of the stuff I've already learnt in HSC business studies so nothing much new stuff to learn)
    Overall: 6.5/10

    MUSC1001
    Ease: 3/10 (Hard if you havent learned music before like me and I was overshadowed by the other musicians in my ensemble class, I suck haha)
    Lecturer: 5/10 (Average)
    Interest: 2/10 (Boring as bat shit)
    Overall: 1/10 (I hated this subject with a passion, fucking glad its now over)
    Present - Certificate IV in Sound Production at TAFE.
    Past - BA (Media & Communications) at UNSW.
    2007 HSC.

  17. #17
    Executive Member beentherdunthat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    1,143
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    FUCKING FAILED QMA
    FAILED
    FAILED
    =[ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Q1) wtf
    Q2) Relates to q1 . further wtf
    Q3)
    Q4)
    Q5)
    q6) :'( :'(

    an hour later - Evacuated.

  18. #18
    Senior Member M@ster P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    HSC
    2009
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    619
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    do you do discrete mathematics in civil engineering?

    if not then what is the general level of the mathematics in the course
    UNSW Civil Engineering










  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    HSC
    2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    586
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    MATH1131/MATH1231
    Or the higher equivalents.

    Discrete maths is for math majors or computer science majors.
    BEng Mechanical/BSc Computer Science

    UNSW

  20. #20
    Knuckles Omium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Physics
    Posts
    1,738
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    I was about to pick "Discrete maths" as one of my electives. lol. no way ill pick it now

  21. #21
    I AM ANGRY. bringbackshred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,864
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Starcraftmazter

    COMP 1917: (Higher Computing)
    Ease: 9/10
    Lecturer(s): 11/10 (Richard)
    I've heard so many good things about Bucko. Apparently he even has an appreciation society on Facebook.

  22. #22
    Senior Member Starcraftmazter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    842
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by Omium
    I was about to pick "Discrete maths" as one of my electives. lol. no way ill pick it now
    Haha, good thinking.

  23. #23
    Banned Forbidden.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    HSC
    2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Deep trenches of burning HELL
    Posts
    4,452
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    Quote Originally Posted by M@ster P
    do you do discrete mathematics in civil engineering?

    if not then what is the general level of the mathematics in the course
    You can choose it as an elective, but it is not compulsory.

    Quote Originally Posted by Omium
    I was about to pick "Discrete maths" as one of my electives. lol. no way ill pick it now
    Saaaaaame!

  24. #24
    Senior Member Chris.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    HSC
    2006
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    538
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    this should be stickied

  25. #25
    Senior Member Loz_metalhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    HSC
    2006
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    800
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: UNSW Subject Reviews.

    ACCT1501
    Ease: 6/10-First semester of uni and I was pretty slack. Didn't keep up with the tute work.
    Lecturer: Caitlin Ruddock-not very good at all.
    Interest: 7/10
    Overall: 7/10

    ACCT1511
    Ease: 8/10- If you do all the tute work you should be fine.
    Interest: 9/10- I really enjoyed this subject
    Overall: 9/10

    ECON1101
    Ease: 9/10- Stegman practically told you what was in the exam via the practice papers.
    Lecturer: Stegman
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 8/10

    ECON1102
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: Peter Kriesler-he was alright
    Interest: 5/10- My tutor completely turned me off this subject. He had no idea what he was talking about and people would laugh at him during class.
    Overall: 6/10

    ECON1202
    Ease: 6/10- The last few weeks were a bit tough. I only did 2U maths and I found some of the calculus hard in the last lecture.
    Lecturer: Simon Angus-by far the best lecturer I have ever had.
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 8/10

    ECON1203
    Ease: 7/10 -I got a bit behind with the tute work so that made it really hard. Once I caught up it was fine. The past papers provided enough practice for the final.
    Interest: 5/10
    Overall: 6/10- I found it quite boring. I enjoyed QMA much more than QMB.

    FINS1612
    Ease: 8/10- Most of it was theory
    Lecturer: Kathy Walsh-very good lecturer
    Interest: 6.5/10- Some of the material was very dry
    Overall: 7/10

    FINS1613
    Ease: 8/10 -A lot of formulas to remember but it wasn't that hard
    Lecturer: Zhian Chen-One word to describe him: Terrible...
    Interest: 7/10- It was pretty interesting but the lectures were nearly unbearable.
    Overall: 7.5/10

    FINS2624
    Ease: 7/10 -It has some tricky parts but if you understand everything it's fine
    Lecturer: Henry Yip-good lecturer but everyone kept talking in the lectures and he got very pissed off towards the end of session
    Interest: 10/10 I found it really interesting
    Overall: 9/10- All the small quizzes and assignments were a pain.


    ACCT2522
    Ease: 6.5/10- I was going fine until the final exam...it was really abstract and different from the past papers. They must have scaled because I ended up with a DN and I thought I failed the final.
    Lecturer: Linda and Nicole were great. I found Yee really boring...but she was good.
    Interest: 8/10
    Overall: 8/10

    FINS3616
    Ease: 7/10
    Lecturer: Kingsley-nearly as bad and Zhian. He practically just read off the lecture slides
    Interest: 7/10- It is pretty interesting in parts. There is a mix of calcs and theory.
    Overall: 7/10

    LEGT1711
    Ease: 7.5/10
    Lecturer: Janet Austin!!! Very VERY boring. I skipped nearly all the lectures and ended up listening to the recordings
    Interest: 4/10 Crime and property were interesting. The textbook was not good...
    Overall: 5/10
    Last edited by Loz_metalhead; 29 Oct 2008 at 8:19 PM.
    3rd Year B Commerce @ UNSW (ACCT/FINS)

Page 1 of 32 12311 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •