Feel really lost in life... is uni right for me? (1 Viewer)

emmy96

HSC
Hello,

This is the first time I've posted on here, and I'm not sure who else to talk to... I feel like I'm in such a dark place.
I've been to career counsellors, uni counsellors, and used up the free sessions at psychologists, but couldn't afford to continue.

To keep things short, I'm a 4th year student at UNSW studying B arts/economics, with many fails and a horrible wam. I know not to place the blame on anyone else, ultimately it's my own doing. But I've struggled with severe and suicidal depression for many years especially after my mum died and I had to move out and support myself. I've been to counsellors but none of them seemed to be right for me, and perhaps it was a mistake to stop seeking help, but they were too costly to continue.

I'm in my fourth year of this course with 6 fails, 5 of which were because I couldn't leave my bed. This semester, I pushed myself to attend all my classes but I just couldn't seem to absorb anything. This sem was supposed to be the semester I turned everything around and prove I could take care of myself. But with finals coming up I know I'm going to fail again. This time not because I stopped attending classes, but because I neglected my studies.

I don't know what I want to do in life. I've asked the same questions since year 12, researched so much but couldn't find the answer. I like creative things like drawing, but that's completely different to what I'm studying and everyone tells me it's a bad career to pursue. They tell me to stick with economics because that will make me money.