Medical science (1 Viewer)

highshill

HSC
Hi i am currently an year 11 student nearly starting year 12 i was thinking about dropping a subject
My subjects are
Biology
Physics
Chemistry
Mathematics
English Advanced
Ancient History
I really want to drop one of the sciences but my school says you need all three sciences to become a doctor since uni of NSW and other uni require all the three science but its too much can i still be accepted if my Atar is like 99.95 without one of the sciences

pikachu975

Premium Member
HSC
Hi i am currently an year 11 student nearly starting year 12 i was thinking about dropping a subject
My subjects are
Biology
Physics
Chemistry
Mathematics
English Advanced
Ancient History
I really want to drop one of the sciences but my school says you need all three sciences to become a doctor since uni of NSW and other uni require all the three science but its too much can i still be accepted if my Atar is like 99.95 without one of the sciences
You don't need any sciences for almost every uni that does medicine, it just may be assumed knowledge for a bit. The only prerequisites are for a small amount of universities, e.g. band 4 in english for UNSW. Not sure where your school is getting their info from.

Also most universities require UMAT + ATAR + interview but if you get 99.95 you can go USYD with just ATAR + interview.

http://medstudentsonline.com.au/for...-selection-criteria-y12s-non-standards.31845/

There's a very useful link to see admission into medicine.

fizzbylightning

HSC
Uni Grad
I would keep the subjects you enjoy and you're good at and drop the subject you don't enjoy so much and you don't perform as well at. This is because admission to medicine is highly competitive, so you want to maximise your ATAR. If you're thinking of dropping one of the sciences, the science least relevant to medicine is physics.

Last edited:

fizzbylightning

HSC
Uni Grad
In the UNSW Medicine FAQ page,