which actuarial degree is better? (1 Viewer)

H.S.C

Hi, i am a hsc student, new to this forum. I was hoping if someone could tell me which actuarial degree is better? UNSw one? or Macquarie one?, i know the actuial degree at Maq has been established for quite a while, but i think i like the name UNSW more......so i am still deciding which one......can anyone gim me some hints...????:wave:

aspect

in the end it will probably be the same for you..
at mac you start doing actuarial subjects straight off. the one at mac has been around for longer, but you have to ask yourself how exactly this translates.

at unsw you start with the core commerce and maths subjects first semester, and then do actuarial courses from 2nd, and afterwards the degrees will probably be similar. You also get more flexibility at unsw if you do straight commerce, as you can pick from a fairly large range of majors/minors.

personally the location of the uni made the choice easy : 40+ minute drive or 15 minute walk

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
I agree
the difference is flexibility. If u know u want to become a straight actuary then prolly Macq would be better because its been established longer, but if u wanna do Actuary and something else, the flexibility and the reputation of being the best Commerce and Economics faculty in the Australasian region is hard to go past.

H.S.C

Ok, thx....i know the acturial degree at Maq has been established longer..but i heard that the one(from my friend's friend) at UNSW is even harder than Maq...is this true , what are your views?

-=«MÄLÅÇhïtÊ»=-

HSC
ok ok
let's shift the bias abit towards mq now (from sum1 who does actuarial)

Macquarie actuarial has been established for a while (we're the first uni to teach actuarial and be recognised internationally in australia). The actuarial degree at unsw has been established for a few years and the main lecturer is a graduate from macquarie.