Applying to MQU while suspended at UNSW (1 Viewer)

Amayataiyou

HSC
In the past few semesters, due to a few reasons, I have failed 1-2 subjects every sem leading to an academic standing of suspension for 1 year at UNSW. After this result, I realised that the course I'm currently studying is really just not the right course for me, whether it'll be the workload or the actual content. So after some serious thinking and questioning of my life choices, I have decided to apply for a new course at a different uni, something which I know I will do well and work hard in. But because of my suspension status, I was wondering if I am able to apply for the course I want at MQU at this current stage, or will I have to wait for my suspension year to end before applying. Also, does MQU consider ATAR as a selection criteria even after having completed one year of full time study at uni? Thanks guys.

InsoulvencyReaper

Existential Crisis
HSC
Not completely sure if I am right... but here goes.

Just apply through UAC. You will [likely] get an offer if you have gotten the required ATAR.

You can probably apply for RPL for units have completed and not failed.

I know UNSW obviously won't consider you for any other courses [or even take a student from another university on if they have academic suspensions] - this is on their UAC information sheet. On MQ uni's info sheet it doesn't say.

If you're worried, call the MQ Uni up to confirm.

ilikecats

Meow meow meow meow meow?
HSC
Uni Grad
I don't believe there is anything preventing you from applying through the UAC to Macquarie University while suspended.

HOWEVER I disagree with InsoulvencyReaper on one key point. Even if you had the required ATAR, because you have completed more than year of study, your GPA/WAM and academic performance is considered instead.