referencing question (1 Viewer)

tylee

HSC
I'm a first year student struggling with my essay i have due... If i'm writing a paragraph on something i learnt from the lectures or something i briefly read over the internet, do i need to reference it?
because i remember one of my tutorial classes said i shouldn't use websites for my writing because it's not academic?

so now i'm confused on how should i reference something like that???
e.g. if i were to talk about milk
milk comes from cows, it is healthy.

like it's just assumed knowledge???

can someone explain when to reference something? :spzz:

RenegadeMx

Kosovo is Serbian
HSC
Uni Grad
mainly use references to support your argument

thor1990

HSC
N/A
Uni Grad
If its common sense you probably don't need to reference it. If it's your own critical thinking or analysis again you don't need to reference it. But as a rule of thumb try reference as much as you can as it adds credibility to your argument.

You can reference the lecture, ask the convenor how to do that. You can reference normal websites but depending on the subject try and get most references from reputable sources e.g academic journals, books, the wall street journal, australian financial review, abs, reports from organisations

RenegadeMx

Kosovo is Serbian
HSC
Uni Grad
If its common sense you probably don't need to reference it. If it's your own critical thinking or analysis again you don't need to reference it. But as a rule of thumb try reference as much as you can as it adds credibility to your argument.

You can reference the lecture, ask the convenor how to do that. You can reference normal websites but depending on the subject try and get most references from reputable sources e.g academic journals, books, the wall street journal, australian financial review, abs, reports from organisations
>reputable
>uses newspapers

BLIT2014

The pessimistic optimist.
HSC
Uni Grad