nursing - hsc leaver - assumed knowledge (1 Viewer)

ntl07

HSC
N/A
Hey all, i'm just wondering i plan to study at UTS and i dropped chemistry, biology and 2u Maths at the end of yr 11 and is it essential to have 'assumed knowledge' in science and maths to proceed into nursing?

Thanks!

GMK

HSC
lol...check your UAC guide, it should have all the assumed knowledge in there somewhere, just have to dig around in the index for a while =P

krayzie_

HSC
Hey

Any two units of science and any two units of mathematics are recommended.

It's not essential but if you had it then better for you. I studied no science in HS and I found it abit hard but in the end it was ok.l

absolutepureobl

manic monday
HSC
There is no real assumed knowledge. You'll just have to work a bit harder than those who studied science subjects previously. I studied Bio, Chem, PE, and Gen Maths which have all helped me tremendously with understanding the course but it's definately possibly to do it and get great marks starting with no knowledge. One of my friends this year didn't study and sciences or maths for the HSC and did fine.

HSC
Yea it just depends on your ability to pick up the concepts etc. One of the science based nursing courses "pathophysiology" does cover a few science things covered in the HSC but their quite basic so u should be fine :)

shanti96

ya hasra and goodnight
HSC
I hear you have to get 100% in some exam that deals with math [drug dosages etc]. Is it hard math? Would year 12 general math be an appropriate prerequisite for the nursing course or are we talking advanced math?

upright

HSC
N/A
I think you should be OK. The maths is mainly "ratio and proportion" and "long division" for drug dosage/calculations and drip rates (i.e. IV fluids). You're not allowed to use a calculator.

shanti96

ya hasra and goodnight
HSC
oh ok... i need to brush up on long division lol i suck at it.