BA Media & Communications (Journalism) in International Studies - curiosity (1 Viewer)

life4_rent

hey all..

im not sure if any uni students use this forum.. lol, this place is flooded with frenzied hsc students looking 4 notes..

just outta curiosity, is there anyone out ther doing 'BA Media & Communications (Journalism) in International Studies'? im kinda wondering wat was involved? i really want to do this course.. cept the uai this year's a staggering 97.00-ish *freaks out*

any comments would be appreciated.. im a yr12 student btw.. doing obscure texts for english advanced and english ext.1.. i swear, my school has issues.. lol =)

-maggie xox

braindrainedAsh

Journalist
HSC
I'm doing journalism.... I wanted to double it with int std but missed out.... what do you want to know exactly?

life4_rent

wow.. i got replies *feels special* :D

just info in general, i guess. what do your topics revolve around? what assessment tasks do you guys have to do? is there any hands on experience? excursions? are you guys loving the course or are u regretting you ever chose it?

i'm guessing there's some research involved in the course.. lol, thats an understatement, i think. i'm also doing a media, arts & journalism course at tafe as part of my hsc along with 4u english, 3u maths, physics & modern hist... lol, im insane.. doin 13u for my hsc :D

did u guys hav to pay ne fees? my dad says the only fees we'll end up paying is for student unions, bt then, he attended uni ages ago, so i wouldnt' know. plus all my cousins are too busy WITH uni, so i can never track them down to ask questions =)

-maggie xox

braindrainedAsh

Journalist
HSC
Umm... have you heard of HECS fees? You have to pay HECS!!!!

So far, there are common subjects for first year (same accross all the comm degrees) and they are more theoretical/historical/social type studies... then you have your professional subject ie journalism where you start developing those skills.