Diploma of languages (1 Viewer)

HSC
I am interested in taking a diploma of languages in Japanese, I am also a first year student studying a business and law degree. My question is, will the language I choose in my diploma affect my employability in the future?, if so, what other language would I be better off doing with my double degree. Also, how do I apply for the diploma and does it start this autumn session?

LightOfTheSeven

HSC
Do you want to do Japanese over other languages? If so, do Japanese. Languages require motivation, and if you are just seeking to become more 'employable' you will not reach a high standard. Weak motives don't last long in language learning. You may want to consider exchange / residencies, like what country you'd be okay living in for 3 weeks to 6 months.

If you are after $$$ and jobs, some would say Mandarin. Understandable, but Japan is still a close friend and ally to Australia, has a population of 125+ million, and wields a certain amount of power when it comes to business. It may not be the ~rising power~ China is, but when it comes to a diploma of languages and you are a first year, you do get to pick.

I suggest before you walk into your first Japanese class, you do some research on the language- even if its just learning basic phases. I'm doing Russian at Macquarie, and last year I was so unprepared. I've improved much better now, but a Diploma of Languages are a commitment. I wonder how UTS are at languages, esp Japanese.

You said you were doing business / law. What areas of business interest you? Do you see yourself having a global career? Want to practice law? If so, whereabouts in the world?

HSC