Should I use teacher's notes, make my own notes, rely on the textbook or past papers? (1 Viewer)

HSC
I have had a really harsh time in year 12. No matter what approach I take to studying my grades are just a complete fail.

I have taken the approach of making my own notes and I still failed.
I have taken the approach of using my teacher's notes and I still failed.
I have taken the approach of copying the whole textbook and understanding the concepts and doing past papers and I still failed.

Am I failing because of the combination I am taking or the number of hours I am studying is wrong?

For maths test, I understand all the concepts and are able to get all the questions I do correct but I always don't get enough time to finish one or two questions and that drags my mark down.

For biology, I just can't get full marks for the questions I do.

For chemistry, I can do all the calculations but I just always get like a 0 or 3/5 for my content understanding

For English, I just always get that 16/20 and can never get to an A range despite getting full marks in my preliminary course.

So for all you geniuses out there how do you study smart? and what are some exam techniques or time management skills you have?
How many hours of study is suitable for each day?

Please help!

Thank you

BLIT2014

The pessimistic optimist.
HSC
Uni Grad
Re: Should I use teacher's notes, make my own notes, rely on the textbook or past pap

Have you been handing in your practice questions for the teacher to mark?

pikachu975

Premium Member
HSC
Re: Should I use teacher's notes, make my own notes, rely on the textbook or past pap

I have had a really harsh time in year 12. No matter what approach I take to studying my grades are just a complete fail.

I have taken the approach of making my own notes and I still failed.
I have taken the approach of using my teacher's notes and I still failed.