What is the best way to critic your own work. (1 Viewer)

charmingman

HSC
I'm trying to recycle my creative instead of creating a new one. The ideas are solid, but the delivery is weak and vague. How do I manage to change this?

spaghettii

HSC
Uni Grad
I'm no English expert, but I think a key component of a good creative is the whole "show don't tell" thing. Also a developed character/s help give the story a sense of progression.

Here's a link to an article that goes into editing a proofreading. Haven't read this article in particular but the website is pretty good:
https://www.artofsmart.com.au/edit-and-proofread-your-hsc-creative-writing/
Also here's another article of theirs that I've found pretty helpful:
https://www.artofsmart.com.au/hsc-creative-writing-guide/

jjuunnee

HSC
Critiquing your own work is quite difficult because you can easily overlook your flaws, so I suggest getting people to read it eg. friends, family, teachers. However, reading your creative out loud may help to highlight areas that need more work, because if it sounds weird out loud it most likely reads weirdly as well.

dan964

what
HSC
Uni Grad
send it to me over PM, I'll have a look and give you some feedback
-dan

BienvenueAMusA

HSC
-show not tell
- don't change tenses
- vary sentence structure

for critiquing, print it out and grab a couple of highlighters, red pen and go through your work

captainhelium

water enthusiast
HSC
Haha I remember doing this back when I did my creative. This is what I basically did:

- Ensure that your character interactions do not feel contrived

- Make sure that every sentence you write contributes to the atmosphere and/or progression of the story. If it doesn't, its better to take it out and replace it with something useful.

- Don't change tense during the story (unless you're having a prolepsis or analepsis - I'll talk about this later)