MacBook Air or Pro? (1 Viewer)

mollytee

HSC
Hi, I'll be in year 11 next year and I'm trying to decide between the MacBook Air or Pro 13". I've always thought the Air would be my best bet but I asked my IST teacher yesterday and she explained how it depends on the subjects you're taking. The only course I'm taking where I may need to create something would be Drama or Ext 2 English in year 12, where I would make a short film or something. I've always loved graphic design and photography but I happen to be too lazy to take them up seriously. I'd love to master the Adobe creative suite in the future but honestly I have no experience. Would something like photoshop run smoothly on an Air?

If I was to get a MacBook I'd be using it for essays, notes, lots of music, movies and photos and occasional video editing/photography. I love the portability of the Air but I also love the Retina display/performance on the Pro (good for watching movies) Keeping in mind that I probably won't use the Pro for anything like heavy editing or design since I only have an interest in those things, which laptop would you recommend for me? I might take it to school with me occasionally but other than that I'd probably take my IPad Air on other days. Any advice would be much appreciated x

astroman

HSC
i have a macbook pro and it runs Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom and after effects fine. Although, it is very expensive and i would rather of had spent the money on a cheap laptop for school and spent the bulk of the money building a much more powerful desktop with much better specs. Anyway's what is your budget? Apple products don't offer best value for money and you would be better spending $1500 on something much more powerful.

Last edited:

Flop21

HSC
Just so you know, you could take any portable laptop to school. Performance doesn't really matter. I mean, you don't need HIGH performance for school.

Do you have a computer already at home?