Eng Adv. Poetry of John Donne (1 Viewer)

xinxin89

HSC
Has anyone else studied his poems? like "The Flea", "The Sun Rising" and "A Valediction Forbiddinig Mourning".

I am currently studying those three poems under the Critical Study of Texts module, we're analysing feminist readings of the poems. I reeli need some notes that r related to that, my teacher isn't reeli a english teacher, so our class is pretty much stuffed for dis upcoming assessment, so it'd be greatly appreciated if anyone has notes on this.

m0ofin

HSC
N/A
I don't study John Donne, but I do John Keats, lol. Have you had a look at the Resources section of this site? Go on the BOS main page > Resources tab > Click on English (adv, or standard) > Prelim

If you have already, try doing a search on these forums.

dukey

HSC
Ahhh John Donne :)

"A Valediction Forbiddinig Mourning" I am not clear with but "The Sunne Rising" and "The Flea" I have studied for at tutor for about 3 months. Feel free to ask me anything about these two poems.

arrynaurelia

HSC
well i dont have any feminist notes [though i do have some on othello] but we did have to annotate the hell out of those poems so if you need them...
feel free to ask.

Lani89

HSC
Ohh he irritates me so much. At my school our exam was on "the sun rising" and as soon as the teacher left the room we were all like WTF?!?!? Hardly anyone knew it was about the end of his night's sexual activities with his lover or whateva. I find him really contradictory and insane.

dukey

HSC
lol when I first read "the sunne rising", I too was confuzzled..
but after reading it thoroughly, I understood.
Quite clever. I believe its hard to comprehend because tis in the form of an apostrophe and the whole poem is basically an extended metaphor/conceit

xinxin89

HSC