Needing Some English Help Please (1 Viewer)

xXRoscoXx

HSC
I am a year 11 student who at the moment is struggling a lot with English. I have never been very good at English and i am hoping to change that.

I have just changed schools from a school where doing homework and studying was not really necessary to a school which is strict on work and has a lot more of it to do, this causing me a major problem by falling behind and not understanding to much.

So i have stumbled across this forum which looks like it could help me a lot!!
The topic for me is 'Change in Perspectives'
Currently i am having a major problem with understanding change and how techniques portray it.

I was wondering if someone would be able to help me to understand 'change' and how techniques show it.

I am also stuck on finding a related text on 'Mao's Last Dancer'. If anyone could suggest a related text then i would greatly appreciate it.

xXRoscoXx

HSC
i have chosen the movie The Black Knight as my related text.
If anybody has seen this would they be able to help me with the changes that are taken place.

norez

HSC
Well, I can't give you explicit advice for your topic, as I'm doing journeys, but a for general English advice:

Firstly, look at your text as a whole. What does the composer say about change? Brainstorm a little. 3-4 ideas is ideal.

Then think about HOW the message of change is shown for each of the ideas you just brainstormed? Was it a specific scene, a quote, the protagonist's response to the change? Brainstorm, and then look through your text to get the details. i.e. What is happening in this scene, page no. Try and find three strong 'HOW's.

These HOW's are called techniques. They're just ways in which the composer chooses to show his idea. It could be linguistic, like a simile or alliteration or stylistic, such as tone, structure of the text or the way in which his ideas of his text may be saying something about the nature of humanity, or society or change on a wider scale.