Goal is medicine but nowhere close, advice? (1 Viewer)

smh123

HSC
Medicine is something I desperately want to study and now that I'm in Y11 I feel like the distance between medicine and I is further than ever.

I'm struggling to find volunteer positions that can give me medical experience or at least observe what medicine is really like. I'm not sure when or how to prepare for the UMAT and I feel as though I have no valuable experiences to draw upon if I make it to the interview stage. If anyone knows of any medical volunteer positions for under 18's could you please let me know?

Anddd my time management is so poor that my grades are nowhere near where I want them to be. So, in summation, I feel hopeless in terms of extracurriculars, gaining valuable life experiences and studying to get into med. For those who have made it into med, what advice can you give?

iStudent

HSC
Don't stress about your extracurriculars. Focus on your grades first and foremost. I didn't volunteer at anywhere health related and I still did fine. Nice things like these are really the cherry on top :)

pikachu975

Premium Member
HSC
Medicine is something I desperately want to study and now that I'm in Y11 I feel like the distance between medicine and I is further than ever.

I'm struggling to find volunteer positions that can give me medical experience or at least observe what medicine is really like. I'm not sure when or how to prepare for the UMAT and I feel as though I have no valuable experiences to draw upon if I make it to the interview stage. If anyone knows of any medical volunteer positions for under 18's could you please let me know?

Anddd my time management is so poor that my grades are nowhere near where I want them to be. So, in summation, I feel hopeless in terms of extracurriculars, gaining valuable life experiences and studying to get into med. For those who have made it into med, what advice can you give?