0% in english advanced !?!?!?!??! (1 Viewer)

oscarclaw

HSC
I got a zero for my term 1 assessment task in english advanced. Is this an N Award? And does it mean that I'll have to repeat year 11? I really want to do extension 2 english for year 12 so will this jeopardise this? I'm a really good student and I could definitely get an A for the remainder of my english assessments but I stuffed this one up to the point of a 0% So what does this mean? Thank You

The 0% on my assignment was for "plagiarism" even though it was 15% and largely unintentional. But we did a separate reflection which was out of 10 and my teacher said I'm getting a zero for both because "what am I reflecting on my plagiarism" how can I convince her otherwise so that I can get at least a mark for my reflection? Thank you

Last edited:

LemonadeDan

HSC
Hey Oscar, that really sucks mate.

Can't speak for everyone as every school is different and operate under a different system, but in my school we are only able to pick extension 2 in year 12 if you're ranked top 28 in the cohort, we have around 400 students (in Maths and English). I am sure other schools employ a similar system which only allows certain students to pick a high level of Maths/Extension based on their academic ability, so I'd say you're quite screwed, even if you get 100% for the remaining of your exams, that 0% is going to pull your overall down grade a lot.

In my opinion, it's usually better to take it up to the head teachers and ask to have your reflection marked at least; you could also try get your parents to write a LENGTHY complaint letter, that usually does the trick (unless your school's a bunch of dicks)

ChrisMueller

HSC
Uni Grad
Hey man.

To address your questions directly: