Maths Help (1 Viewer)

jashan123

HSC
N/A
In year 7 and 8 i was great in maths. Averaging 90 when i didn't even study. In end of year 9 everything went bad and i even for the first time in maths (any subject) i failed a test ( 49%). In the start of this year i was really determined and for the first test i got 71%(quadratics and further consumer) which i studied really hard for. Most of them were just really silly mistakes and thats why i wasn't that disappointed.

Now that is out of the way my question is am a too far behind everyone. I want to do 4 unit maths but is it too late. Is the gap too big. Or does senior maths not care about before years. Like if i start going hardcore this year will i catch up. If i can catch up how many hours a day. Im really determined and if there is a chance i will change everything. Maximum i can go is probably three hours on a weekday just for maths. (because im doing advanced chemistry in year 10 and dont have much time)

Hkaur_

HSC
I was the same back in year 9 and 10 , if your willing to do it and really really keen, you'll get there. my mathematics class was full this year and when the assessment task came along majority failed and left. from what i've read above, you will catch up for sure, your not behind. :)

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad
Never diminish the impact of silly mistakes, silly mistakes can often come as a result of a lack of practice, or more often, a lack of awareness of identifying these mistakes and avoiding them, you should treat them as seriously as treating mistakes coming from a lack of genuine understanding because at the end of the day, they both equate to a loss of marks. By adopting a serious attitude towards identifying and evaluating any mistakes you have made, it will assist you to improve your maths results dramatically alongside with regular practice:) Best wishes for this year:)

Cleavage

Clarence
HSC
Uni Grad