ENGLISH Yr 10 help! (1 Viewer)

gc653

HSC
Hi everyone

I have always found English to my weakest subject and this year I want to be able to write essays succinctly as well as writing one without getting too anxious about the structure! So I was wondering for essays, what would be the best structure that will guarantee high marks????? I'm aiming for a mark like 17 or 18/20 (normally getting 14-15/20) so pretty much an A.

This is the structure I was always taught; is this correct?????
Introduction
Body paragraph (more than 2)
- topic sentence
- develop topic sentence (introduce example)
- Quote/evidence (to support example)
- Language techniques in quote
- link back to question
Conclusion

I also have trouble with writing and coming up with language techniques which would happen I think after writing the quote. Right now I am studying for an upcoming essay exam on to kill a mockingbird and some quotes I can't find any languages techniques such as the quote below:

"As Atticus once advised me to do, I tried to climb into Jem's skin and walk around in it: if I had gone alone to the Radley Place at two in the morning, my funeral would have been held the next afternoon. So I left Jem alone and tried not to bother him." Page 57

So any English tips that can help answer my questions from above (especially the one on language techniques) would be greatly appreciated thank you ! :)

Last edited:

rumbleroar

Survivor of the HSC
HSC
The structure you were taught is quite correct I reckon...although I think it can be refined better, i.e.:

Intro

Body paragraphs (you usually write ~3-4, depending on the nature of your essay.)
- Topic sentence
- Textual link, i.e. introduce your text and how it links to your topic setnece
- Technique
- Quote/evidence
- Explanation and link back to your thesis (which is a response to your question)