HSC
The function f(x) is defined by:

-x+2 if x >= 1
f(x) = x^2 if -1 =<x<1
x+2 if x<-1

i) Sketch the curve y=f(x)
ii) Find the value(s) of x so that:

f(x)= x/2

I've already sketched the curve, I just need help with the second question. Thanks :)

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
You can solve this graphically.

Get your piecewise function and graph it. Then graph y = x/2, and then where it meets should be your solutions.

cookiez69

What a stupid name, Nat.
HSC
Hmm, my tutor told us it was called Piece meal functions, but that's not the point. Thank you! Much appreciated :D

braintic

HSC
N/A
They are called BOTH piecemeal and piecewise functions.
Piecemeal is the most commonly used term.

Drongoski

HSC
N/A
"piecemeal" got propagated by those who could not get "piecewise" right. A bit like people nowadays saying "could of" where it should have been "could have" or "could've".

braintic

HSC
N/A
Mate, I am a teacher, and I'm approaching 50. When I was at school, and for the first 10 years of my teaching career, 'piecemeal' was the only term used in NSW. 'Piecewise' has only crept in the last 15-20 years. 'Piecemeal' is not incorrect (and I'm not saying 'piecewise' is either). It is nothing like saying 'could of'.

Drongoski

HSC
N/A
Mate - I just picked up 5 calculus texts : James Stewart, Thomas & Finney, Grossman, Anton et al, Murray Spiegel - all "piecewise".

seanieg89

HSC
Mates, if you are going to argue about mathematics at least argue about something of substance. Terminology varies and it always will. Personally I have seen the word piecewise used MUCH more than piecemeal, but pretty much everyone knows what is meant by the use of either term...so why make a big deal of it?

This happens all over the place in mathematics and is unavoidable when people are educated in different corners of the globe and tailor their books on the sources they learned from.

braintic

HSC
N/A