Question about electrical engineering at unsw (1 Viewer)

tazhossain99

HSC
Hey. I'm a 2017 HSC graduate and am interested in doing engineering, particularly electrical. I'm confused in regards to the 2 types of electrical engineering courses that UNSW offers; the Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Honours) AND the Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Honours) w/ the Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering. What is the main difference between the two? Couldn't I just take the normal Bachelor course with a lower entry rank and move into the Masters course later (provided I achieve satisfactory results)? Or does the second course (mentioned earlier) provide added benefits, as implied by its higher guaranteed entry rank?

These questions are eating me rn lol.

Last edited:

captainneuro

HSC
Hey. I'm a 2017 HSC graduate and am interested in doing engineering, particularly electrical. I'm confused in regards to the 2 types of electrical engineering courses that UNSW offers; the Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Honours) AND the Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Honours) w/ the Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering. What is the main difference between the two? Couldn't I just take the normal Bachelor course with a lower entry rank and move into the Masters course later (provided I achieve satisfactory results)? Or does the second course (mentioned earlier) provide added benefits, as implied by its higher guaranteed entry rank?

I think if you do the combined, you finish your degree in 5 years opposed to doing it separately and taking 6 years. Apart from the acceleration, i'm not sure what other benefits it has, sorry lol. I'd recommend you do the combined anyway, you won't have trouble getting in. :thrust:

Last edited:

clementinez

HSC
N/A