Mathematical Curiosities. (1 Viewer)

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
Hi everybody!

When I was a student, I often had a lot of 'theory questions' that often could not be answered by my teacher, and I often wished that I had some sort of place where I could ask such questions.

Examples of such questions are:

In Auxiliary Angle method, why do we always take R>0? Why don't we take R<0?
I read in one textbook that the Fundamental Theorem of Algebra asserts that every non-constant polynomial with complex coefficients has at least one complex root. But another textbook says that the FTA means that a polynomial of degree N has N roots. Aren't these two completely different statements?
I know for sure that if I were a student, I would have loved for such a thing, so feel free to ask whatever 'curiosities' you have here! We have a plethora of users here who are able to answer them.

HSC
Why does the Board write progressively easier MX2 papers? This has always been a curiosity for me...

panda15

Alligator Navigator
HSC
Why did the Board of Studies bring in multiple choice for higher level maths?

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
Why did the Board of Studies bring in multiple choice for higher level maths?
Cheaper and easier to mark.

Also, a nice way to examine those 'small topics' without having to allocate 2-3 marks for them, otherwise it would be difficult to fit everything into 100 marks.

Last edited:

rumbleroar

Survivor of the HSC
HSC
Just out of curiosity, which 4U topics are the "hardest" in your opinion? And which ones would I need to work hardest on? I know its different and relative for all people, but I want to get a range of opinions just to see what I'm facing for the next year.

bottleofyarn

HSC
Just out of curiosity, which 4U topics are the "hardest" in your opinion? And which ones would I need to work hardest on? I know its different and relative for all people, but I want to get a range of opinions just to see what I'm facing for the next year.