ATAR for PhB @ ANU (1 Viewer)

Denske

HSC
I'm a 14 year old student wanting to do a PhB at ANU for physics and mathematics in a few years time.

The ATAR I believe is 99,
Classes I'm going to take (in college) : Double Spec Maths, Physics, Chemistry, English.
To give you a view of my level :
I'm currently studying physics as a hobby - Reading lots of books from Stephen Hawking, and have finished the motion area of physics till the point of needed calculus. I'm in the highest mathematics and science class, in the top 10 best mathematics students in my year. I'm studying at ANU for mathematics every Friday starting in October.

Questions :
How is an ATAR scored? If I don't go well in English but really well in Maths, Physics and Chemistry can I still get an ATAR of 99? What is the best time table to be able to achieve an ATAR of 99 (thinking of going to the National Library after school and studying 2-3 hours of maths, 1-2 of physics and an hour of chemistry)?

Thanks!

//Denske

ajdlinux

Mod: ANU, ATAR/HSC Marks
HSC
The ATAR is calculated over your results in all your subjects. It's a bit different in the ACT (I presume you're Canberran) than in NSW (where most of us on this forum are from) but to achieve 99 you do need to perform well generally.

There's no one way to study. It all depends on what methods work best for you, and how much time you feel you need to put into it. I put quite little effort into the HSC, and I ended up with 93.05 - of course if you want 99+ you'll need to work hard, but just how hard depends on your capabilities. Some people prefer studying in libraries, others prefer staying at home, some people prefer day, others prefer night. The most important thing is to not burn yourself out and keep your life balanced - Year 12 doesn't have to be nearly as stressful as some people make it out to be.