Chemistry depth study - is this too easy? (1 Viewer)

fysiqs

HSC
Hi everyone thought I'd post a copy of the depth study below from a well known eastern suburbs school. A friend of my sister is studying chemistry there and they have been given this as their year 11 depth study. She is worried that it is way too simple and basic but someone here on this forum may find it useful for you or your school.

I was a student there as well and finished many years ago. This depth study reminds me of a task we used to do in year 7 Science. Yes Year 7!!!! it might have been year 8 I can't remember. For an assignment we had to research an element (copy information using google) and make a powerpoint and present to class. cant believe this is now being used in year 11 as a depth study - it just seems way too easy and I think sis's friend is right, why wouldnt everybody get nearly 100% in this???? She says it is supposed to be done in 15 hours....she reckons she will do it in about 3, working slowly. I know the science department there has lost its best teachers recently and standards have probably gone down a lot but even new teachers would make a better assessment task than this? The principal there is also a chemistry teacher at the school so I wonder what he thinks. He used to teach me science in junior years and he was always really nice but would always give basic explanations to questions so it does look as if nothing much has changed.

Hope this depth study gives you guys some ideas...might be really good for maybe a year 9 assessment?

I have taken out the name of the school because it might be a bit embarrassing.

YEAR 11 CHEMISTRY ASSIGNMENT

DEPTH STUDY

30% of Year 11 Assessemnt

TERM 1 2018 WEEK 5, 10, 11, TERM 2 WEEK 2, 7 AND 9 SUBMIT AT END OF TERM 2

CONTENT FOCUS