Heating Processes in Australian Curriculum - New resource sample consultation (1 Viewer)

shyjohn

HSC
Uni Grad
Hi my name is SHY.John and I am a Physics student in UNSW Australia. Today I am showing you a future textbook called Physics Syllabus Stage Six (PSSSix). This is for the Australian Curriculum implementing in, say, NSW in probably in 2017. Today, you will have chance to be consulted for my chapter 2 - Thermal Physics. You might wonder why it is so early to let you see, well, writing a book costs time and effort. For instance, I am still writing the textbook and wanted for feedbacks as soon as possible.

Rundown of the book

Thermal Physics is the chapter 2 of PSSSix, it is about Thermal Physics and corresponds to Unit 1 in Australian Curriculum.

The book starts with a model that summarises the Thermal Physics, then start with the preliminaries where it defines Thermal Physics. The chapter has five parts as its contents,

1. Kinetic theory is talking about the ideal gas model. The syllabus just ignores and did not realise ideal gas is the "toy" that will be used in this course (and in uni as well). It also defines what is thermal motion, where implies the (classical) microscopic world is different to what we see.
  2. Temperature is talking about the definition of temperature, where it is a factor of heat. I also have make applications from the zeroth law, you will see in the part two.
  3. First law of thermodynamics is an introduction of heat and work. Latent heat is dicussed in here.
  4. Second law of thermodynamics in the syllabus contains only the heat efficiency. I added the definition of entropy (in the eye of physicists) where it will become clearer for the concepts in Thermal Physics.
  5. Heat transfer is stressed with the social and engineering applications, such as Global warming and energy security.