St. Andrews catherdral school in town hall (1 Viewer)

enoilgam

HSC
Parent... hoping to see what students think of the school. thanks
I haven't been to St Andrews, but a few friends of mine went there over the years and from what they have said, it was definitely a good school.

However, I probably wouldn't send my kids there because ultimately, I dont think it's close to being worth the $20-$30k pa price tag. I used to be a tutor for several years and I had students who attended a range of schools including local public schools, selective schools, catholic schools and GPS Private schools. Given what I saw, I dont understand how private schools justify charging what they do. The teaching was middle of the pack and much like a public/catholic school, if your child is struggling, they shift the onus onto you. My first student attended one of the state's most prestigious private schools and when he started struggling in Maths, his teachers told his parents to get him a tutor. Personally, I found it outrageous that a school charging working families $30k a year tuition would suggest that parents need to fork out more money for their sons education. I digress.

Whilst private schools undoubtedly offer better facilities, extra-curriculars and discipline, the price tag isnt justified. Local Catholic Schools in my view offer a similar standard at a fraction of the cost. I understand the Catholic Church isn't everyone's cup of tea, but from personal and professional experience they offer a good value for money education. You also dont need to be religious or Catholic, many non-religious families attend these schools.