Choosing Subjects (1 Viewer)

Wurger

HSC
I am going to do Ext His in Year 12.

I currently do Modern and Ancient, and a total of 12 units (going to drop 1 u for ext his)

Is Ext His worth the struggle? And since I'm a history fanatic, will it help me get a higher atar (does it scale well etc)

What are the positives and negatives?

My writing is not the best, but I still get consistent A's in advanced english, should I do it?

And finally, is it possible to get full, or near full (47-49/50) in ext his?
Thanks

Lumenoria

HSC
Hey, I don't do any history subjects but I've heard that despite its decent scaling, it scales quite low for an Extension subject. (lower than English Extension 1 and Maths Extension 1) But if you do well, then this really shouldn't be a major area of concern.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

schoolscribe

HSC
Hey, it's been a few years since I did HSC. When do/did you have to choose subjects by?

grigsonator99

HSC
Hi Wurger

I'm currently studying Extension History for my HSC this year.

I would really encourage you to pick up the subject for your HSC year, as it is a challenging, yet rewarding subject to complete.

In terms of content, it isn't as demanding as other Extension Subjects, but you are still required to put in the effort, both in your exams, and your major.

With your major, it is about a topic of your choosing, as long as it isn't covered in any of the histories, both prelim and HSC. The major allows you to put your historiography skills to the test in an area of study that best suits you. You are given quite a bit of class time to complete the project. As long as you research your topics concisely, and have a continuous flow with your progress, you should do fine.