Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    HSC
    2017
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    2

    Lightbulb Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    So, this is my current situation. I am in no shape or form attempting to gain your sympathy. I am open to all sorts of opinions/advice.

    Forgive me if this is the wrong section to post this but,

    I'm a Year 12 student, that just finished Paper 2.

    On top of being a student, I'm a realtor.

    On top of being a HS student, I've already begun my University Course for Financial Planning.

    My reasoning for not focusing on HSC is simply: "Most people are completing their HSC examinations to get a high ATAR and from this, enter their University and degree of choice. Whilst me, I'm here for a piece of paper, to show that I've completed High School."

    Problem is, word spread that I was entering my trials prepared to "flunk" them all, to my Principal. He has assumed my "performance" to be poor for the rest of my trials, and has already threatened to "dismiss" me from the School.

    I am to meet with him tomorrow morning.

    To me, I need my Higher School Certificate for my future employers to acknowledge that I have completed High School. However, with my current situation, it seems I will be unable to do so.

    Side note: My school graduates in September, after trials. During the ceremony we receive a "certificate" that we have graduated from the school. Would this be sufficient to provide for my future employers? Or should I attempt to persuade my Principal into believing that I'll adequately, to their standards, complete my Trial and HSC examinations?

    Further Side Note: I am fully aware that in the case of a "poor performance" in my HSC examinations, the students in my Cohort/subjects will all be negatively affected, and am prepared to make changes so as to ensure I do not affect them.

    Thoughts and opinions? I would appreciate them.

  2. #2
    Senior Member sida1049's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    558
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    I think it should be sufficient to explain most of what you've mentioned here to your principal tomorrow morning. But on top of that, it might be in your interest to say that you're actively preparing and trying for your HSC so as to make the interview smoother.

    Best of luck!

    Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics)/Bachelor of Arts II, USYD

  3. #3
    Z0
    Z0 is offline
    New Member Z0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    "I'll adequately, to their standards, complete my Trial and HSC examinations"

    Answered yourself, goodluck

  4. #4
    I complete the Squar3 Queenroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    My bathtub
    Posts
    7,113
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    TBH I haven't met an employer other than tutoring that requires a hsc cert. they're gonna look at your degree.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Jaxxnuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    159
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    I didn't bother to fully read what you posted but I reckon that it would be ridiculous for your school to "expel" you at this stage, especially when you're only a 2 months away from the HSC

  6. #6
    Junior Member highshill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    If someone spread this rumour they cannot expel you unless you admit to it it's like someone spreading a rumour that you are bullying someone but you actually aren't they can't take someone else's word against you because it's like showing a unfair scenario as your perspective is not being accepted whilst someone else. I don't think your school can expel you many kids in NSW score very low in the trials and HSC below 30 percent that does not mean the school would expel them not that they are dumb but some are creative fellows and academic does not work with them, but can you at least try in the HSC give it your best go, so one day you won't regret that maybe if you performed well, just tell your principal you are trying your best. Good luck

  7. #7
    Cadet OkDen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    49°51′S 128°34′W
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Z0 View Post
    "I'll adequately, to their standards, complete my Trial and HSC examinations"

    Answered yourself, goodluck
    +1



    "You can be expelled from your school by your Principal at any age if you seriously misbehave. If you are over 17 years of age you can be expelled from your school by your Principal if you are not committed to your studies and your behaviour at school badly affects other people... If you’re over 17 years and you’re consistently not working properly at school, you can be expelled after you have had 1 written warning. "


    Long story short, just complete your HSC to a reasonable standard if you want a HS Cert and no suspension/expulsion records (they are recorded in the school’s register).

    GOOD LUCK!!

  8. #8
    Junior Member Jaxxnuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    159
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Quote Originally Posted by OkDen View Post
    +1



    "You can be expelled from your school by your Principal at any age if you seriously misbehave. If you are over 17 years of age you can be expelled from your school by your Principal if you are not committed to your studies and your behaviour at school badly affects other people... If you’re over 17 years and you’re consistently not working properly at school, you can be expelled after you have had 1 written warning. "


    Long story short, just complete your HSC to a reasonable standard if you want a HS Cert and no suspension/expulsion records (they are recorded in the school’s register).

    GOOD LUCK!!
    To be honest I don't think anyone's going to care if you got suspended/expelled in year 12 (especially employers)

    Considering the fact that your HSC is quite meaningless after HSC

  9. #9
    Senior Member sida1049's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    558
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaxxnuts View Post
    To be honest I don't think anyone's going to care if you got suspended/expelled in year 12 (especially employers)

    Considering the fact that your HSC is quite meaningless after HSC
    Getting suspended/expelled is a huge red flag for employers, especially if you don't have much to show to them. Why would you employ someone who got expelled? Either 1. they didn't put in enough effort in their own work or 2. they stir shit up, which in either case generally translates to negative desirability as an employee.

    And yes, the HSC is meaningless after the HSC, in the same sense that a heart surgery is useless after the heart surgery. You're not going to tell everyone about your HSC marks a month afterwards, but it's the HSC that gives you the easiest route into a university course, which gives you the easiest route to the career you want.

    Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics)/Bachelor of Arts II, USYD

  10. #10
    Junior Member Jaxxnuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    159
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Quote Originally Posted by sida1049 View Post
    Getting suspended/expelled is a huge red flag for employers, especially if you don't have much to show to them. Why would you employ someone who got expelled? Either 1. they didn't put in enough effort in their own work or 2. they stir shit up, which in either case generally translates to negative desirability as an employee.

    And yes, the HSC is meaningless after the HSC, in the same sense that a heart surgery is useless after the heart surgery. You're not going to tell everyone about your HSC marks a month afterwards, but it's the HSC that gives you the easiest route into a university course, which gives you the easiest route to the career you want.
    Ok my ideology is that a mindset of an 18 year old would be completely different to a 22 yr old applying for a full time job

    Assuming that the applicant did nothing wrong for 4 years and had shown hard work and a positive attitude to learning (as well as good manners), I'm sure that although the applicant got expelled (dont quote me though), the employer would understand that his/her attitude changed over the course of 4 years

    And as I said to be "expelled" for not having good trial results is incredibly stupid. OP would need to complain to someone about this

  11. #11
    LV Only Esse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sanctuary Hotel
    Posts
    209
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Lmao ppl at my school legit came to trial exams and just sat there not even opening and attempting the paper........ and they didn't get expelled or suspended or w/e
    HSC 2016:

    English Advanced [90] • Mathematics [95] • Mathematics Extension 1 [92] • Chemistry [92] • Business Studies [95] • Economics [91]

    98.65 (All-Rounders)

    B. Eng (Hons)/B. Comm @ UNSW '22

  12. #12
    Executive Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    HSC
    2001
    Uni Grad
    2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Parramatta, NSW
    Posts
    1,107
    Rep Power
    5

    Re: Getting kicked out/EXPELLED for POOR PERFORMANCE in my trials... NEED OPINIONS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Esse View Post
    Lmao ppl at my school legit came to trial exams and just sat there not even opening and attempting the paper........ and they didn't get expelled or suspended or w/e
    Too kewl for skewl
    Visit My Website | Like My Facebook Page | Need HSC Physics Tutoring?


    HSC Physics 2018 - Few spots remaining
    Preliminary Physics / Chemistry 2018 - Taking enrolments

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •