Do I need Extension 1 Maths? (2 Viewers)

ethanevo

HSC
Hi, I am currently in Year 11 and I do the following subjects:
  • Software Design
  • Modern History
  • Economics
  • Advanced English
  • Advanced Maths
  • Extension 1 Maths
  • Business Studies

I am aiming to go to either the University of Sydney or UNSW and was planning to do a combined Software Engineering/ Commerce degree.
I am not the best at extension maths but I think I have the ability to do decent.
Should I keep it or drop it to achieve this course? Some say scaling will help me but i'm quite busy and don't know if I have the commitment required for Extension 1.
Thanks

Amleops

Perpetual Student
HSC
Do whatever you want.

Any assumed knowledge from high school courses can be easily self-taught before you begin university.

Mathew587

HSC
From 2018 onwards 2u math will be assumed for most degrees in usyd so be vary of that.
I've asked the same question as well and the consensus was keep it till u think it's best to drop. Keep in mind that in uni you'll do math higher than 3u so if you're dropping because you think it's hard then you might wanna rethink. 3u does end up taking quite a lot of your time, depending on your ability, but your subjects look pretty good so as long as you work hard and don't burn out, you will do well.
Also start tutoring for 3u if you haven't already so that you're not like me and having to put in more effort to learn new topics.
Goodluck

Mathew587

HSC
Do whatever you want.

Any assumed knowledge from high school courses can be easily self-taught before you begin university.
I wouldn't say easily taught and you'll definitely need to do a lot of catching up in uni.

sida1049

HSC
I would recommend to keep Mathematics Extension 1.