Tips for part b of the personality question? (1 Viewer)

emilyh95

HSC
I'm unsure how to prepare/respond to the quotes given in part b and was wondering if someone could give me any pointers? I'm studying Trotsky, but general advice would be helpful too.

jenslekman

HSC
just know the syllabus well. for the part b), you develop a thesis and "judgement" on the exam day and just use your knowledge on the syllabus to answer the question. for preparation, i guess you should focus on the "significance and evaluation" dot point when you're studying, and make sure you actually know the significance/evaluation of the events and why they happened (for e.g. because trotsky wanted to pursue idea of permanent revolution?), and not just the events themselves.

Eduard_Khil

CASIO fx-82ES PLUS
HSC
N/A
yep that's right, most of the time section b) can be a quote, as shown in the last previous years, in which the question asks for your own personal opinion, as a result for that section, not only do you have to agree or disagree with the statement but you also must justify your answer, now the justify part is based on the content you have learnt about it, and how it supports your argument, remember though although a massive amount of content, of course makes a really good essay, you must link it back to the question, so that it "supports" your argument, otherwise you'd have a lot of content, but your essay would lack argument, which is the very thing you are trying to achieve, thus making it more like a recount of events, rather than an essay :p

LoveHateSchool

Retired Sept '14
HSC
Uni Grad
Think of the qualities and events in Trotsky's life e.g he was a magnetic speaker, his relationship with Lenin etc. I don't do Trotsky, but I assume they'd look at his part in rev and power struggle etc. alot.

cem

Premium Member
HSC
N/A