Writing Modern History Essays (1 Viewer)

Lanina

HSC
I have just begun writing essays for modern history , is it me but when you write up essays there is soooo...... much context that has to be mentioned its not like an English essay ( the link always being the main connection you have to carry out throughout ) in a way it is but I'm finding it difficult to answer my question and the link if there is one in my case is lost!

so could I please get any tips , as I'm new to writing essays for this particular subject :wave:

please and thank you:):)

Rhanoct

zzzzz
HSC
The key to writing band 6 essays for modern and ancient is using a very basic essay structure with strong topic and link back sentences. It is imperative that you know all the essay terms (discuss, explain, assess, etc.) because each one demands something different. Make sure you list ALL your points in the intro AND in the conclusion. With the exception of WW1, no historiography = no band 6. Try not to waffle on; if you know all the main points and write consistently and clearly, using historiography when appropriate, you will get a band 6.

good luck :)

ccc123

HSC
The main things I've learnt are important with modern essays

*Being succict. As you said, its not English. They don't want waffle. They don't want fancy words. They want a clear, fluent argument that answers the question.

*Use sources ALWAYS. If you want band 5/6, you need to go beyond simply recounting what happened and use sources (both primary and secondary) to support what you're saying.

*It's also important to answer the question directly in the introduction and briefly outline what your going to say in the body.

*Link your topic sentences back to the question. I find the most effective way to do this is to reuse the content word from the Q. So if the question is 'assess the impact of the U.s entry on the course of ww1', in your topic sentences you need to make it clear that your assessing impact. E.g