Law Students: What is studying law really like? (1 Viewer)

Freyo

HSC
Hi, I'm a current year 12 student (graduating in 2015) and I wanted to ask what life is like for current uni law students? I have been thinking about getting into law for quite some time now, and the HSC legal studies subject has been an absolute favourite since last year, however reading some of the posts on this forum made me question my decision for two reasons:

1. It seems that law degrees are a killer, with stress induced workload in every semester, while trying to balance extracurricular activities that pretty much get you a job after you graduate

2. Even when you do end up graduating, job opportunities are so competitive that most people who did double degrees at uni put their law degree on the shelf and get a job working with the other degree (e.g. commerce)

So I was wondering if there are any law students out there who might be able to answer those questions, maybe even tell us what your typical day as a law student is like and what uni you go to?

OzKo

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
Hi, I'm a current year 12 student (graduating in 2015) and I wanted to ask what life is like for current uni law students? I have been thinking about getting into law for quite some time now, and the HSC legal studies subject has been an absolute favourite since last year, however reading some of the posts on this forum made me question my decision for two reasons:

1. It seems that law degrees are a killer, with stress induced workload in every semester, while trying to balance extracurricular activities that pretty much get you a job after you graduate

2. Even when you do end up graduating, job opportunities are so competitive that most people who did double degrees at uni put their law degree on the shelf and get a job working with the other degree (e.g. commerce)