Marks for legal employment - sacrificing results for work? (1 Viewer)

Constantine

HSC
Hi guys. I'm a thid year law student who is beginning to become concerned about my marks.

Last year for the first time I failed a subject (47). It is a compulsory first year commerce subject but regardless I still can't help but feel worried. In my first year I was on a distinction GPA but last year was a rough year for me, including a car accident so I am currently on a credit average. My marks last year ranged from a fail to a credit, with three passes.

I will be straight and say that I thought I could handle it, getting an alright ATAR and making it into law. However, to be completely honest, I haven't really truly studied in the past two years due to a combination of reasons. Lazy and being too greedy with work and uni involvement. I was working seven days a week with 2 part time and 1 casual and was involved in numerous university extracurriculum activties, including completing a marketing internship with a university department and getting several leadership roles in programs and societies. I am yet to have any jobs in the legal industry tho.

I am determined to turn it around this year. Going to focus more on studies, sit down and get those marks. I am passionate about the legal industry and I want to practise law in the future so it's time to grow up and be smart about it and start making some smart choices and try harder.

I want to be realistic about the future as well. If I want to get into a mid to big law firm, what are the marks I should be getting? Distinction GPA? Would one fail subject in a commerce first year unit impact negatively by a lot? I have quit all my jobs, keeping one to pay living expenses and hopefully replace it with a legal industry related on later this year but is it important to keep up with the extra activites from uni? Is it worth it when it pays off in marks?

Any response is much appreciated.
Ta thanks.

enoilgam

HSC