Interview with Richard Beasley, author/barrister (1 Viewer)

Frigid

LLB (Hons)
HSC
N/A
PART 1

Mr Beasley, could you please tell our readers a little about yourself.

I am a barrister at the New South Wales Bar. I have been for nearly 8 years. Before that I was a solicitor from between 1988 to 1997, so I have been a lawyer for 17 years. I’ve worked in a variety of firms. I grew up in Adelaide, went to Adelaide University to do undergraduate. I did postgraduate at Sydney University. I worked mainly as a solicitor in Sydney. And then I went to the Bar here in Sydney at Wentworth Chambers.

Since going to the Bar, I’ve had two novels published. The first is Hell has Harbour Views which came out in 2001. The Ambulance Chaser came out last year in 2004. The books are about corrupt law firms and corrupt insurance companies respectively. I’m working on a sequel to the second book at the moment, when I’m not working as a barrister.

I’m married with a couple of kids.

So who are your favourite authors and which are your favourite books?

My favourite authors in terms of being an influence would be people like Carl Hiaasen, who writes black comedies set in Florida, that have got a fairly strong left-wing bent, particularly about protecting the environment. Most of the characters in his books are corrupt judges and politicians. He’s a fantastic writer, though not particularly well known in Australia. Elmore Leonard is another favourite of mine – he writes grittier crime novels in the States. They’d be the principal influences outside Australia that I like.

Inside Australia, I’m a fan of Shane Maloney, about a political adviser and then a politician set in Melbourne. A couple of his books were made for television last year, one was called The Brush Off and the other was called Stiff.

They’re the sort of people I like to read and have an influence on my writing. Also, though I won’t claim that I write anywhere as good as them, other detective writers like Raymond Chandler.