undergrad med. UAI still required? in 2nd yr tertiary study (1 Viewer)

freq707

HSC
i asked this question in another thread..but its bugging me like crazy so decided this would be best way to get an answer!

im in 2nd year of Bsc at UNSW
my uai was most definately below the undergrad med cut off....purely because i literally winged my entire hsc....i was immature lol
i've changed haha :)
do i still have a chance? if i sit the umat and do well, is it my umat and gpa that will count toward my undergrad entry application?
this is all in reference to newcastle uni
thaaaanks

and a lil side question - im majorng in anatomy..does this get looked at even at all?

Wooz

^wooz*y^
HSC
i asked this question in another thread..but its bugging me like crazy so decided this would be best way to get an answer!

and a lil side question - im majorng in anatomy..does this get looked at even at all?
Please check the other threads.

Short answer No, unless you are going to apply for graduate med and apply at Deakin where you get a 2% bonus in the application if you have done Medical Science/Biomedical Science and majored in it.

xxstef

languages are my world <3
HSC
its part gpa, part uai, part interview, i believe.

Dr_Fresh

U MAD??
HSC
N/A
thats what i meant. for the "academic achievement" criteria thats what it is. then theres the interview and dont forget UMAT. all these 3 are weighted equally.

freq707

HSC
as i was to keen to find out, as the thought of undergrad as a possibility was exciting, i got someone already in undergrad med at newcastle to ask the admissions desk there
and turns out if you have completed a year of tertiary study, they look at that (a 5.5gpa required) and not uai
+ umat and interview obviously...

so looks like im doing the umat!
yay...excitement seems to be crushed at the thought haha

Bacilli

Hypocritical gump
HSC
N/A