UNSW New Medicine Curriculum (1 Viewer)

adrenaline88

Medicine...
HSC
Hey everyone,
I'm a year 11 student who is really keen on studying medicine.
I've read about UNSW's new med course but I'm still a bit frazzled about it.
I understand the whole concept of PBL, but how often is it done? Is the whole of phase 1 (see I do know something about the course :p hehe) comprised of PBL or do you get "traditional" lectures (like biochem, anatomy, etc)??
Would really appreciate it if any 1st year UNSW Med students could private-message me to explain what life in the new course is like.
Cheers
:)

p.s- if anyone could scan one of their old timetables so I can see first-hand what 1st yr med is comprised off, that would be REALLY helpful.

Skywalker

HSC
N/A
PBL is done throughout the entire new course. If you look at the pics I've posted up, you'll notice we still have separate lectures and/or tutorials for each discipline.

adrenaline88

Medicine...
HSC
Hey Skywalker,
Thankyou so much for the sample timetables, they are a big help! :D
I've read that 1st-years have clinical exposure from day one, how often does ths occur?
By the way, congratulations on your excellent HSC marks + UAI!

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

HSC
hmm skywalker.. ure timetable is like mine..
looks fun.. u got expiratory volumes work.. could hav helped me..
wat other systems u guys covered?

Skywalker

HSC
N/A
Point: We didn't do any complete systems last session, only scenarios. The physiology (lung function/volume) was related to a tuberculosis scenario. I'm not quite sure how you guys do stuff there, maybe you could give me an overview? .

m00gal: The new course is definitely controversial. Some people love it, some people hate it. My "facilitator"(an anat lecturer), who is about as old school as you can get, thinks PBL has quite a few faults. However, our communication/ethics tutors love it.

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

HSC
we covered (6 cases?) not realli confined to a single system in each but