HELP!! IDEAS ON MAJOR| Visual Arts (1 Viewer)

michael127

HSC
Hey there,

I'm doing Visual arts next year (currently in year 11) and i hoping to get advice on what to do for a major? i am going into the course of "painting and drawing". Also could you give me any pointers on what the markers are looking for ?
I'm basically aiming for something band 6 and just out of ideas.

Cheer,:drink:

Last edited:

Fiction

HSC
Hey~
As a current VA student, I would definitely suggest you to start early - preferably by the summer holidays. From my experience anyways, although it's important to work on your concept, there is only so much you should do before you just start and stop worrying about all the what ifs. Personally I started in around term 3, which was really dumb, because I'm rushing my work now seeing as it's dued this week. Keep in mind that although it's great to have everything mapped out - (and you really should, since art is an expensive subject) your major work will continue to change throughout the year and may end up not what you initially envisioned it to be. So, as someone who spent far to long on planning, I would definitely recommend not to dwell too long on the theoretical and more on the practical.

Your concept and technical ability should be refined and sophisticated but you don't worry too much on what the examiners are looking for. They really are only looking for any deep concepts that have been well portrayed. If you've been to Art express, you'll see that a wide range of subjects and focuses are displayed every year, there really is no right or wrong concept - unless if it's offensive or your work has prohibited items in them (glass, needles etc)