How should you prepare for the English Advanced/Standard HSC? (1 Viewer)

Martin_SSEDU

HSC
How should you prepare for the English Advanced/Standard HSC?

What have you done since the Trial HSC for English? Still waiting until after graduation before you start? Well, in all honesty, a lot of students post Trial HSC don’t even start working on their English until about 3 weeks out from the HSC examination as it’s really hard to decide what exactly you need to do.

If this speaks to you then don’t worry, there is still time.

Coming from my experiences as a 2013 HSC graduate (98.85, Band 6 English Advanced) I have prepared this article for English Advanced or Standard students to better prepare themselves to get a Band 6 result for the HSC. Also, coming from my experiences as a tutor, I have seen this checklist work time and time again for my students in achieving a band 6 or significantly improving.

I felt personally that this forum would benefit from this as I've been answering questions that are all about improving in English Advanced or Standard for the HSC. For the sake of the wall of text, I've split my article up into separate comments. Enjoy!

Step 1 – Understand your Trial Results

The first and most important way to get a band 6 result and start working on English preparation is to interpret your results from previous examinations and most importantly your Trial HSC.

The easiest way to do this is to look at the comments that are provided throughout your essay, marking criteria sheet or a Comments from the Marker on that specific task. You probably glanced at this when you got your results back and didn’t pay much attention to the specific details.

A comment that is often provided by markers is “your essay is lacking analysis” and/or “you haven’t answered the question”.