Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By BLIT2014

Thread: Is it worth keeping Advanced in my case? (Ex-HSC marker teacher)

HSC

Question Is it worth keeping Advanced in my case? (Ex-HSC marker teacher)

Okay so hear me out. This isn't the exact same as all those other posts.

I have an ex HSC marker as a teacher and recently she has become completely honest with our English advanced class about what is expected is us in the HSC. Apparently for an essay or creative story 6 pages is minimum for a B-A mark while in standard 3-4 will suffice for a B-A (factoring in quality of course) While she has been preparing me since year 7 (was lucky to have her every year since then) I am a really slow writer, I am bad at techniques and given practice papers I'm really struggling to keep on par with other students. It just doesn't come as natural, part of this is representative of my grip, it's really poor and will continue to haunt me however that's not my main reason, it was just a deciding feature to make me want to post this.

I am currently planning to pick up extension 2 mathematics, which will put my subjects are:

English advanced - 64% (70% but I feel like I flunked on my critical anlysis so guessing it Brought me down a bit)
    Mathematics - 100%
    Mathematics extension 1 - 90% (I messed up a chain of questions in the beggining of a question and little mistakes keep bringing me down -_-)
    Physics - 95%
    Chemistry - 97%
    Software D&D - 85% (distance ED, basically self taught and I've been more focused on learning then performing well in tasks)
    Mathematics extension 2 - N/A

Other 2 units is from a one year accelerated course (aviation cert 3 remote pilot (VLOS) which doesn't count for atar.