Themes in Sonnet 18? (1 Viewer)

spaghettii

HSC
Uni Grad
If you're referring to 28 (18 isn't in the prescribed texts list), then I think possible themes could be:
- love (idealised love and love as a transformative agent)
- time (the development of EBB and RB's relationship, EBB's development in character)
- religion and faith (relating to the author's context of 19th(?) century england, referenced in "god's future thundered on my past")

tklawl

HSC
N/A
Going to assume this is Shakespeare's Sonnet 18 (the infamous "Shall I compare thee to a summer's day"). I studied this for discovery and was very close to using it as my related text. However, Gwen Harwood came knocking on my door.

You might want to tell me if this is for discovery or Mod C, but I'm going to assume it's for discovery.

Themes I can recall off the top of my head:
- Complexities of human emotion (i.e. love and desire) - the narrator is unable to verbalise his love for this woman, but eventually 'discovers' poetry (and the lines that encapsulate the woman's beauty) is/are impervious to time.
- The shallowness of outward appearance (you're going to have to drag this very far if you want to use it in a discovery essay - don't know why I had this, but I know the poem has a lot of exegeses (double meanings)).
- Interdependence of love and beauty - in this case, his love is entirely rooted in surface-level values.
- The transcendent nature of love (more so literature than love in this case) - can extend beyond time.