Thread: Enzyme SACs

Cadet
    HSC

Smile Enzyme SACs

Okay...my biology class will be onto biochemical pathways next week! We will also be doing a SAC (practical) on enzymes on the same week. I have no idea what to expect as I have never done a practical on enzymes before. What could the task be? Any ideas? Has anyone ever done any experiments with enzymes in biology before? Any dissections? I ask because I completely mucked up my first SAC...and I need to get a really high mark for this one.

HSC

Re: Enzyme SACs

Quote Originally Posted by Jake Matthews View Post
    I completely mucked up my first SAC...and I need to get a really high mark for this one.
    We're in the same boat.

Our first SAC was so incredible short that the smallest of mistakes completely compromised our final mark. All of the questions related to explaining the damn concept of osmosis in the potatoes were removed, leaving us to formulate the occurrence in graph form. Really.

Section B likewise was so underwhelming and threw me off as we were told there would be a moderate amount of theory as well as multiple choice. Rather we were given a diagram of an extremely challenging plant cell with approximately 8,200 Endoplasmic Reticulum-looking organelles, microscope conversion (!) and of course a second diagram of the plasma membrane featuring an ion pump.

Basically you could have attended the first week and a half of class and gotten an A+ in this silly SAC.

HSC

I did 3/4 bio last year. Our enzyme sac involved adding an enzyme to milk that causes it to curdle.

One samle of milk was placed in icy water, another at room temperature water, and the other in hot water (the milk was in beakers, obviously). We had to investigate the effect of temperature on enzyme function etc.
    typical muslim:

Quote Originally Posted by crazy_paki123 View Post