Results 1 to 21 of 21
Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By D94
  • 2 Post By Kolmias
  • 1 Post By donkily
  • 1 Post By Kolmias
  • 1 Post By Zoinked
  • 1 Post By boredofstudiesuser1

Thread: Subject Selection Review

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Subject Selection Review

    Yo.
    I'm in year 10 right now and we're choosing subjects for year 11 next year. I plan to do Medicine or an Allied Health at university and aiming for an atar of 97+ but school rank is in the 70s is it possible for me to get such an atar? What ranks do I need to acquire?

    My subjects I have decided on:

    • Advanced English
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Economics or Legal Studies or Business Studies
    • Mathematics
    • Mathematics Ext 1
    • English Ext 1


    Total no. of units: 12
    Last edited by card; 29 Mar 2017 at 5:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Executive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    HSC
    2017
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    SYD
    Posts
    1,551
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Ext 2 English is only available in year 12.
    MX2 - ADV - ECO - BUS

  3. #3
    D94
    D94 is offline
    Ancient Orator D94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    4,329
    Rep Power
    7

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Yes, 97+ is certainly possible. You will need to be at the top, especially if you want to do medicine. You shouldn't aim for anything less.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by si2136 View Post
    Ext 2 English is only available in year 12.
    typo, my bad

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Should I do economics, legal studies or business studies?
    Considering scaling and how much content each sub has.

  6. #6
    Khan of Spam Kolmias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    1,480
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Should I do economics, legal studies or business studies?
    Considering scaling and how much content each sub has.
    just do econ. sooooo much better then legal or business
    Zoinked and card like this.
    Prelim 2017: 3U English | 2U Maths | Economics | Legal Studies | SOR1 | Modern History
    ATAR Aim: 90.00
    Course Aim: Commerce @ UNSW

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Kolmias View Post
    just do econ. sooooo much better then legal or business
    okay thanks

    I'm so confused honestly I'm ready to become a garbage cleaner.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Is economics difficult?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    236
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Is economics difficult?
    wouldnt really say difficult but it is a lot of content and a large amount of memorisation and understanding of how this is applied to the real world (imo 2 topics in eco would be 3 modules and an "option" (same length as a module) in chemistry but again others may disagree with me but that's just my opinion)

    sometimes (especially the multiple choice) they can easily trick you
    card likes this.

  10. #10
    Khan of Spam Kolmias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    1,480
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Is economics difficult?
    Depends on your strengths and passions. I enjoy economics and I don't find it difficult.
    card likes this.
    Prelim 2017: 3U English | 2U Maths | Economics | Legal Studies | SOR1 | Modern History
    ATAR Aim: 90.00
    Course Aim: Commerce @ UNSW

  11. #11
    Beast Zoinked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    416
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Yo.
    I'm in year 10 right now and we're choosing subjects for year 11 next year. I plan to do Medicine or an Allied Health at university and aiming for an atar of 97+ but school rank is in the 70s is it possible for me to get such an atar? What ranks do I need to acquire?

    My subjects I have decided on:

    • Advanced English
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Economics or Legal Studies or Business Studies
    • Mathematics
    • Mathematics Ext 1
    • English Ext 1


    Total no. of units: 12
    Legal and Business are the most boring units ever, though if you don't mind just straight mindless rote learning, you could get good marks in both of them.
    card likes this.

    2016 ATAR: >90
    2017-2020: Bachelor of Applied Finance/Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) @ Mq Uni

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    434
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Kolmias View Post
    just do econ. sooooo much better then legal or business
    I beg to differ.

    Legal studies is amazing. The content is really fun to learn and there are so many cases to learn about. It's more about learning information rather than maths sort of stuff, so it's be more relaxing.

    I think Econ is part of the Asian 5... so yes it is a lot more challenging
    card likes this.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    434
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoinked View Post
    Legal and Business are the most boring units ever, though if you don't mind just straight mindless rote learning, you could get good marks in both of them.

    Lol wut, I'm loving it. It's actually interesting

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Yeah I just ended up picking the Asian 5 subjects.
    Will most definitely drop english ext. 1 though in year 12
    Last edited by card; 30 Mar 2017 at 9:54 PM.

  15. #15
    Moderator strawberrye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    HSC
    2013
    Uni Grad
    2018
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,298
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Yeah I just ended up picking the Asian 5 subjects.
    Will most definitely drop english ext. 1 though in year 12
    Maybe you will surprise yourself and enjoy Ext 1 haha-I had the same thought as you at the start of year 11-and I ended up keeping it for year 12 because I genuinely enjoyed the subject.

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by strawberrye View Post
    Maybe you will surprise yourself and enjoy Ext 1 haha-I had the same thought as you at the start of year 11-and I ended up keeping it for year 12 because I genuinely enjoyed the subject.
    Nah I doubt it the school English department is terrible and I don't like English.
    Last edited by card; 31 Mar 2017 at 7:58 PM.

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Apparently in year 11 and 12 my school has Saturday AND Sunday classes. Does this happen at other schools??
    I've had Saturday classes since year 9, you learn a year ahead. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    This is done so that students who do 2U maths, bio, physics complete the HSC exam by year 11 for those subjects.
    Last edited by card; 31 Mar 2017 at 7:58 PM.

  18. #18
    Moderator strawberrye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    HSC
    2013
    Uni Grad
    2018
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,298
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    Apparently in year 11 and 12 my school has Saturday AND Sunday classes. Does this happen at other schools??
    I've had Saturday classes since year 9, you learn a year ahead. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    This is done so that students who do 2U maths, bio, physics complete the HSC exam by year 11 for those subjects.
    I think having weekend classes is extremely unusual. Wow what kind of school is your school-sounds like it is for a bunch of geniuses who are all so smart. I haven't even heard of James Ruse having classes on weekends for this purpose.

  19. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by strawberrye View Post
    I think having weekend classes is extremely unusual. Wow what kind of school is your school-sounds like it is for a bunch of geniuses who are all so smart. I haven't even heard of James Ruse having classes on weekends for this purpose.
    It's private, it ranked 9th a loooooong time ago but then there was an influx in students leaving and the rank decreased soo much. The year 3's have NAPLAN classes on Saturdays lol so unnecessary imo. Not everyone has weekend classes though only the top students during year 9-12. I remember learning brief circle geometry in year 9 it was so annoying.
    Last edited by card; 31 Mar 2017 at 10:07 PM.

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    236
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by card View Post
    It's private, it ranked 7th a loooooong time ago but then there was an influx in students leaving and the rank decreased soo much. The year 3's have NAPLAN classes on Saturdays lol so unnecessary imo. Not everyone has weekend classes though only the top students during year 9-12. I remember learning brief circle geometry in year 9 it was so annoying.
    dont they get burnt out from too much school?

  21. #21
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Subject Selection Review

    Quote Originally Posted by donkily View Post
    dont they get burnt out from too much school?
    Nah, I don't think so it's entirely up to the student whether or not they want to attend these extra classes but usually those who don't are kinda disadvantaged.
    Last edited by card; 1 Apr 2017 at 8:46 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •