Transitioning to a New School in Y11 and Impact of Ranking (1 Viewer)

chrisyin

HSC
Hi,
I'm a Y10 student from Parramatta High and I'm considering applying for Sydney Boys High into Y11 entry. I've got a couple of concerns in my transition to Sydney Boys, if successful. I don't have comprehensive knowledge in regards to the HSC as a whole however I wanted to ask, how much will my ATAR be affected in moving from Parramatta (around 100th rank school) where the school's internals are alot more easier to Sydney Boys where the internals can be expected to be much harder. Will my ATAR be affected given the fact that school marks count towards HSC and I'd achieve lower marks at Sydney Boys as it is harder?

Additionally, I've heard things about school rank playing a role in your ATAR depending on your circumstance. At Parra High, I'm a top 5 in all my subjects and I'm imagining at Sydney Boys, it will be hard to get a top 10, let alone top 30 rank. Will that change from a high rank at a partially selective school to a mediocre rank at a highly academically successful school affect my ATAR? Would i be better off staying at Parra where internals are easier and my rank is top 5 in all subjects.

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad